Skip to content

Patti Smith – Peace & Noise (1997/2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Patti Smith – Peace & Noise (1997/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:26 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Arista

After a prolonged retirement, Patti Smith returned to action in 1996 with Gone Again. It was recorded after she suffered the loss of both her brother and her husband, Fred “Sonic” Smith, two losses so great that it’s not surprising she is still exploring that pain on Peace and Noise, which quickly followed Gone Again in 1997. Patti had been working on Peace and Noise with Fred before his death, and its issues are appropriately more domestic than those on Gone Again. Throughout most of the record, she explores aging and raising children, trying to find a place for her family in the modern world while coming to terms with her aging rebelliousness. The music on Peace and Noise trims away the sonic bluster and anthemic rocking of Gone Again, preferring a sparse, piano-based musical foundation. As a result, her words resonate clearly and have a succinct, poetic power that was lacking on the otherwise worthy Gone Again.
– Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. Patti Smith – Waiting Underground
2. Patti Smith – Whirl Away
3. Patti Smith – 1959
4. Patti Smith – Spell
5. Patti Smith – Don’t Say Nothing
6. Patti Smith – Dead City
7. Patti Smith – Blue Poles
8. Patti Smith – Death Singing
9. Patti Smith – Memento Mori
10. Patti Smith – Last Call


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: