Skip to content

Patricia Barber – Clique! (2021) {2.0 & 5.1} [Official Digital Download 24bit/352,8kHz]

Patricia Barber – Clique! (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/352,8kHz | Time – 45:14 minutes | 6,56 / 2,66 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Impex Records

Patricia Barber, the performer known for boldly blurring the lines between poetry, jazz, and art song, has announced the forthcoming release of a new all-standards album Clique, due out August 6th in breathtaking hi-fi. The long-awaited successor to Nightclub, her critically acclaimed and fan-favorite first all standards album, Clique features a tracklist of tunes that Barber has frequently performed as encores throughout her illustrious career, including classics by Rodgers & Hammerstein, Stevie Wonder, Lee Hazlewood, Lerner & Loewe, Thelonious Monk and more. After growing an international cult following, earning the first-ever Guggenheim Fellowship awarded to a non-classical songwriter, and becoming an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Patricia Barber is back with a “silk, velvet, languid, warm” journey through music history as she “respects traditions, bends them to make her own points, and freshens them into something new,” as noted in the album liner notes by NPR’s Susan Stamberg.

These are relaxed, communal sessions. Her long-time core duo of bassist Patrick Mulcahy and drummer Jon Deitemyer ride up and down, in and out of Barber’s complex, sensitive playing and reflective singing. The support of her long-term players, along with guitarist Neal Alger and saxophonist Jim Gailloretto allow her to shine brightly while digging out striking moments for their own unique contributions. The chemistry is palpable, all-encompassing. This group’s long-developed synergy-painstakingly curated by these musicians for years-provides both a metaphor and the perfect title for her new album.

Impex Records, Patricia Barber, Jim Anderson invite you to experience the music, revel in the mastery, and join the Clique!

1. This Town (04:37)
2. Trouble Is A Man (03:52)
3. Mashup (08:04)
4. Samba De Uma Nota S’o (One Note Samba) (04:28)
5. I Could Have Danced All Night (04:56)
6. The In Crowd (04:28)
7. Shall We Dance? (04:19)
8. Straight No Chaser (06:09)
9. All In Love Is Fair (04:23)

FLAC 24-352,8 5.1 ch

FLAC 24-352,8 2.0 ch

%d bloggers like this: