Skip to content

Paolo Russo – Playground (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Paolo Russo – Playground (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:19 minutes | 909 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Odradek Records

Following the success of ‘Overland’ on Odradek Jazz and ‘Imaginary Soundtrack’ on Odradek World, versatile Italian musician Paolo Russo presents ‘Playground’, a whimsical journey inspired by the freedom of children at play. All the music on the album was composed or improvised by Russo on an array of instruments: bandoneon, piano, synth, percussion.

‘Playground’ is an expression of Russo’s ‘inner child’, exploring the fantastical world of sounds and colours that one, two, or more musical instruments together can generate when governed and played by a single creative mind. As in any playground, there are rules, but excitement and challenge are to the fore, transcending boundaries and unchaining the brilliant inventiveness of the imagination.

The 17 tracks on this album represent for Russo a journey navigating the tightrope between organisation and chaos, sacred and profane, construction and improvisation, tonal and atonal, structure and anarchy; between the velvety, mysterious nostalgia of the bandoneon and the majestic, crystalline elegance of the piano.


01. Schisseando
02. Novelletta
03. On the Edge of the Abyss
04. Dublin Road
05. Postkort
06. Gocce
07. Sufrimiento dulce
08. Luminescent
09. In Search of Knowledge
10. Ten Horses
11. Immanent
12. Ballata breve
13. The Upcoming Shift
14. Transcendent
15. Jazzonga
16. Arcobaleno
17. Rising above the Mist


%d bloggers like this: