Skip to content

ORA – Upheld by Stillness, Renaissance Gems and their Reflections – Volume 1: Byrd (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

ORA – Upheld by Stillness, Renaissance Gems and their Reflections – Volume 1: Byrd (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:18:17 minutes | 1,28 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: eClassical | Digital Booklet | © Harmonia Mundi UK
Recorded: St Alban’s, Holborn 16-18 February 2015

For their first recording for harmonia mundi UK new signing ORA have chosen to focus on that towering figure of the English music scene, William Byrd.

As Suzi Digby says in her introduction: “Starting the recording with an original Renaissance reflection, Byrd’s pairing of his own music to Da Monte’s setting of verses from Psalm 137 – one of the most remarkable exchanges in musical history – we centre on his peerless Mass for Five Voices. We then asked Roxanna Panufnik, Francis Pott, Alexander L’Estrange, Owain Park and Charlotte Bray to set their own reactions to the individual movements and we are delighted with the varied responses we got – showing the universality of Byrd’s sacred music and its relevance to today’s musicians. We imposed no restrictions, other than length, on our chosen composers in order to gain their truest reactions. The recording closes with possibly Byrd’s most famous work, his setting of the text of Ave Verum Corpus, and we asked the multi-talented musician Roderick Williams to write a setting on the same text. I am so grateful to him, and to all the composers of these wonderful new works, and hope you will be equally entertained and enlightened.”

Philippe de Monte (1521 – 1603)
1. Super Flumina Babylonis 04:43
William Byrd (1543 – 1623)
2. Quomodo cantabimus 07:00
Mass for Five Voices
3. I. Kyrie 01:27
4. II. Gloria 05:02
5. III. Credo 09:14
6. IV. Sanctus and Benedictus 03:37
7. V. Agnus Dei 03:37
Roxanna Panufnik (b.1968)
8. Kyrie after Byrd 03:42
Francis Pott (b.1957)
9. Laudate Dominum 05:57
L’Estrange Alexander (b.1974)
10. Show me, deare Christ 13:08
Owain Park (b.1993)
11. Upheld by stillness 06:52
Charlotte Bray (b.1982)
12. Agnus Dei 04:37
William Byrd (1543 – 1623)
13. Ave verum corpus 03:32
Roderick Williams (b.1965)
14. Ave verum corpus Re-imagined 05:45

Artistic Director and Conductor Suzi Digby
Sopranos: Zoe Brown, Julie Cooper, Elizabeth Drury, Camilla Harris, Emilia Morton, Emma Walshe
Altos: David Clegg, Edward McMullan, Eleanor Minney, Kim Porter
Tenors: Jeremy Budd, Steven Harrold, Nicholas Madden, Nicholas Todd
Basses: Richard Bannan, Ben Davies, William Gaunt, Edmund Saddington


%d bloggers like this: