Skip to content

Olivier Holland – Olivier Holland’s Gjazz 5 (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Olivier Holland – Olivier Holland’s Gjazz 5 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:32:27 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Timezone

For his latest CD album “Gjazz5”, German / NZ bassist, composer and educator Olivier Holland has lined up a (literally) once-in-a-lifetime-band of his all-time-favourite musicians Geoffrey Keezer (US), Terreon Gully (US), Denis Gaebel (GER), Roger Manins (NZ) as well as special guest Joscho Stephan (GER). If you aren’t familiar with any of these names, we recommend you get familiar…

years in the making, the long anticipated Gjazz5 album launch represents a colossal milestone. Looking back onto his 30 CD albums (as collaborator and initiator) strong discography, Oli calls Gjazz5 his “flagship” project. 3 years in the making, multiple trips to Europe to record and mix the tracks, mastering, etcetc, Oli has not spared any efforts to make this one “count”.

The recording took place in March/April 2018 at the prestigious Fattoria Musica studios in Germany. 12 of Oli’s tunes were tracked as well as Terreon Gully’s composition “Tanktified”, mixed at Fattoria, then mastered in LA by Grammy Award winning mastering engineer Kelly Hibbert. The result: 13 tracks, amazing sound, each one unique in itself as they explore a multitude of genres.

While it is impossible to get the entire “album-crew” on stage during Covid times (who BTW are keen as mustard), NZ is blessed with so much world-class musical talent and hence, the personnel for the album launch equally features some of NZ’s hardest ‘hitters’:

Drums: Malachai Samuelu (Mal)
Piano and synth’s: Joe Kaptein
Tenor sax: Roger Manins
Alto sax: Thabani Gapara
Guitar: Dixon Nacey
.. and of course on upright and electric basses: Olivier Holland


Disc 1 (47:09)
1. $10 Per Rat (08:49)
2. MRS. Bombastic (08:25)
3. Morse Code (04:18)
4. What? (05:35)
5. For Heidi (09:23)
6. Easyaz! (10:39)

Disc 2 (45:18)
1. Tanktified (07:14)
2. Dog (07:43)
3. Venus Fly Trap (04:57)
4. Bad Tuesday (03:55)
5. Don’t Worry (06:47)
6. Van Dump (06:49)
7. 10C Per Fly (07:53)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: