Skip to content

Ohad Talmor Trio – Mise En Place (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ohad Talmor Trio – Mise En Place (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 50:20 minutes | 921 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Intakt Records

Saxophonist and composer Ohad Talmor follows up his album Long Forms with the Ohad Talmor Newsreel Sextet (Intakt CD 341) – a trio recording with his closest musical friends in Brooklyn: guitarist Miles Okazaki and drummer Dan Weiss. Ohad Talmor is the very definition of a cosmopolitan artist, holding three passports – American, Swiss and Israeli – while being based in the polyglot borough of Brooklyn, New York. Although mentored by the late, great altoist Lee Konitz, Talmor has musical obsessions that range far and wide. From iconic tenor saxophonists like Sonny Rollins and Wayne Shorter to such disparate European composers as Bruckner and Ligeti to theintricacies of Hindustani classical music. Talmor has taken this album’s title, Mise en Place, from a French phrase often used to refer to the preparation and organization of all ingredients and implements ahead of cooking although, more pertinently, it’s also a colloquial French term for rhythmic accuracy in jazz. A fluent, precise “time feel” is a prime trait of his trio with Okazaki and Weiss. The trio plays as one, lithe and muscular. “Despite the technical demands of these pieces,” Talmor says, “our goal is to eschew stock licks, to really listen, to really improvise – to always be in the moment with the music.”

01. Kamali
02. Mixo Mode 19
03. Shymal Bose Chakradar
04. Pairs
05. Theme and Variations
06. Wise One
07. Rupak Tukra
08. Back of the Plane
09. After the Rain


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: