Skip to content

Of Monsters and Men – Fever Dream (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Of Monsters and Men – Fever Dream (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:30 minutes | 904 MB | Genre: Alternative & Indie
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Republic Records

Four years after the release of their hardened sophomore effort, Beneath the Skin, Iceland’s Of Monsters and Men returned with Fever Dream, a reinvigorated change of pace that gives the band a shimmering synth pop makeover. Stepping away from the folksy anthems that broke them across the globe, the quintet absorbed bright synths, programmed drums, and beat loops, resulting in a surprisingly satisfying hybrid. Moving past any potential disappointment brought on by the fact that there’s no “Little Talks” to be found on Fever Dream, it still takes a minute to digest this drastic sonic shift. Along with producer Rich Costey (Muse, Sigur Rós), Of Monsters and Men take a daring risk and evolve, maturing themselves in the process. For fans of their early sound, cuts like the pulsing “Alligator,” the driving “Vulture, Vulture,” and the melodic “Róróró” effortlessly bridge their eras. Otherwise, Fever Dream sets its sights on uncharted territory for the group. At times, they echo indie electronic acts like Hælos or Broods (“Wild Roses,” “Ahay”), while elsewhere they even borrow from 1989-era Taylor Swift with the lovelorn singalong “Sleepwalker.” Continuing their adventures with genre testing, the poppy, dance-friendly “Wars” — complete with groovy disco claps — juts up alongside the experimental “Under a Dome,” an expansive epic that shifts from heavy introspection to glimmering elevation. Above all, the sweeping “Stuck in Gravity” stands tall. With dramatic strings and a gorgeous late-song synth wave, the song is one of the more exciting standouts on an album of unexpected moments. Since each track is so distinctive, the album is compulsively listenable, offering something new to discover around every corner. With Fever Dream, Of Monsters and Men took a chance and rediscovered their creativity, embarking in a colorful and bold direction without sacrificing their heart and soul in the process.

1. Alligator (03:04)
2. Ahay (02:56)
3. Róróró (04:21)
4. Waiting For The Snow (03:43)
5. Vulture, Vulture (02:57)
6. Wild Roses (04:03)
7. Stuck In Gravity (04:24)
8. Sleepwalker (03:19)
9. Wars (03:37)
10. Under A Dome (04:34)
11. Soothsayer (03:35)


%d bloggers like this: