Skip to content

Nordic Brass Ensemble – European Tour (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/352,8kHz]

Nordic Brass Ensemble – European Tour (2016)
Digital eXtreme Definition FLAC Stereo (tracks) 24-bit/352,8 kHz | Time – 01:15:38 minutes | 3,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © 2L, Lindberg Lyd

It is common to date the beginning of the Renaissance to the mid-14th century. From the ashes of the Black Death emerged a society that was fundamentally changed, and to a large extent saw itself as re-born – formed anew. It cannot be a coincidence that this transformation first took place in the very parts of Europe that had been at the centre of the Roman Empire when at its strongest, in Italy. Florence became the main powerhouse of the new Europe, and from there the Renaissance spread rapidly, bringing an intense cultural flowering to France, England, the Netherlands, Germany and Spain. It is from these countries that Nordic Brass Ensemble has assembled the repertoire for “European Tour” – music arranged specially for this ensemble by Hans Petter Stangnes and Stian Aareskjold. Modern brass instruments have a history going back to the Janissaries, the Ottoman sultan’s special military corps. Contact between Renaissance Europe and Islamic culture helped determine how European culture, and in particular its music, would develop in this period. Nordic Brass Ensemble is made up of musicians from symphony orchestras and wind ensembles in the Nordic countries, and it has always played early music.
Nordic Brass Ensemble was founded in 1993 by a group of brass musicians who shared a strong desire to make chamber music together. From the start, the ensemble has focused on developing its own musical ideas and concepts of sound. By exploiting the different instruments’ special qualities and combining them in new and unusual ways, and by extensively using mutes, percussion and, indeed, unfamiliar instruments to create new colours and effects, the ensemble is continuously shaping its distinct sound.


Suite “European Tour”
1 Mundus et Musica et Totus Concentus (Bartolomé Ramos de Pareja) 1:21
2 Dit le Bourguygnon (traditional) 1:14
3 Danza Alta sobre “la Spagna” (Francisco de la Torre) 1:10
4 Hopper Dancz “Routi Bouilli” (Johann Weck) 1:08
5 Battalla de Morales (Francisco Correa de Arauxo) 5:17
6 Pie Jesu Domine (Cristóbal de Morales) 1:36

Suite “Terpsichore” (Michael Praetorius)
7 Intro & Gavotte 3:00
8 Bransle gay semel 1:32
9 Galliard 1:30
10 Ballet 1:30
11 Bransle gay 1:37
12 Ballet du Roy 2:49
13 Volte 1:00
14 Tristis est anima mea (Carlo Gesualdo) 4:55

Music from the court of Christian IV (Mogens Pedersøn / John Dowland)
15 Ecco La Primavera 1:44
16 Flow My Tears 2:09
17 The King of Denmark’s Galliard 2:18
18 Circumdede me runt (Cristóbal de Morales) 1:54
19 Pavane la Battaglia (Tielman Susato) 2:09
20 Jerigonza (Mateo Flecha) 2:07

Holborne Suite (Anthony Holborne)
21 Nightwatch 2:06
22 Lullabie 2:19
23 Almaine 1:43
24 The Funerals 2:11
25 The Fairie Round 1:15
26 Dolcissima mia vita (Carlo Gesualdo) 2:29

Music from the court of Louis XIII (André Danican Philidor)
27 Musique de l’enfance du Dauphin 6:12
28 Libertas 1:53
29 Musique pour le Sacre de Roy 3:03
30 Revecy Venir du Printans (Claude Le Jeune) 3:49
31 La Battaglia (Adriano Banchieri) 1:59
32 Susato Suite (Tielman Susato) 4:24

Track 1-3, 7-17, 26 and 30-31 arranged by Hans Petter Stangnes
Track 5-6, 18-25, 27-29, and 32 arranged by Stian Aareskjold
Track 4 arranged by Erik Eilertsen

Nordisk Brass Ensemble:
Hans Petter Stangnes (N) Trondheim Symphony Orchestra
Jon Behncke (N) Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
Brynjar Kolbergsrud (N) Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Stian Aareskjold (N) The Norwegian Wind Ensemble
Rune Brodahl (N) The Norwegian National Opera Orchestra
Geir Anfinsen (N) Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Niklas Almgren (S) Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Petter Winroth (S) Norwegian Radio Orchestra
Jens-Kristian Søgaard (DK) Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Tuba / cimbasso
Morten Agerup (N) Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Percussion / timpani
Heming Valebjørg (N) Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra


%d bloggers like this: