Skip to content

Norah Jones – Begin Again (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Norah Jones – Begin Again (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 28:55 minutes | 537 MB | Genre:  Jazz, Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blue Note Records

During 2018, Norah Jones concentrated her creative endeavors on a series of digital singles that found the singer/songwriter stretching herself stylistically. Usually, she pushed herself by teaming with new, unexpected collaborators, including Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy – a tactic that guaranteed a variety of sounds and songs, a practice put into sharp relief by the 2019 release of Begin Again. This brief LP collects the seven songs recorded for this project – all but one released beforehand – and while they’re a disparate batch, they nevertheless cohere thanks to their elegant, elastic experimentation. Jones plays with presentation more than form – arrangements run from the spooky austerity of “A Song with No Name” to “Uh Oh,” an effervescent number that’s deceptively dense – but that’s enough to give Begin Again an elusive charm. Every track seems to hint at a grander version than what was delivered, but the loose ends and modest scale are alluring, since they appear to offer an insight into how this fiercely imaginative, quietly fearless singer/songwriter challenges herself. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Labels have never been her thing… Jazz, pop, country, folk, world, Norah Jones has always played music that she has to blur boundaries. And that her collaborators include legends of jazz like Wayne Shorter, of soul like Ray Charles, of country like Willie Nelson, of rap like Q-Tip and of rock’n’roll like Keith Richards, this American has worked tirelessly to, above all, be herself. A serene and beautifully nonchalant voice capable of inhabiting her own themes as well as revisiting any song. Three years after the ambitious Day Breaks, this brief Begin Again (28 minutes, 7 tracks) is more than just a thrown-together collection of tracks. Instead, it’s a new self-portrait, alternating between assumed pop (My Heart is Full), expressive soul (It was You) and up-tempo jazz (Begin Again). To stay amongst people of taste, Jeff Tweedy from Wilco made appearances on the magnificent A Song with No Name and Wintertime. Surrounded as always by the finest musicians (Brian Blade’s velvet drums are wonderful), Norah Jones masterfully guides us through this no-man’s land of a little bit of jazz, a bit pop, a bit soul. And it’s as enjoyable as ever.  – Clotilde Maréchal

1. My Heart Is Full (03:06)
2. Begin Again (03:49)
3. It Was You (05:30)
4. A Song with No Name (04:03)
5. Uh Oh (03:37)
6. Wintertime (03:48)
7. Just a Little Bit (05:02)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: