Skip to content

Nina Ogot – Dala (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Nina Ogot – Dala (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:04:01 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Pop, World
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Hey!blau Records

For more than a decade, the vocalist and guitarist has performed as a trio band until recently in 2018 when a 13 piece band lineup was formed for an event in Cologne-Germany dubbed “Jambo Day” by the Treasures of Kenya Initiative. This is a nonprofit trust based in Kenya and Germany dedicated to the conservation of Kenya’s natural and cultural heritage. Together, the new team recorded Nina Ogot’s third album “Dala” in 2019, followed by a series of performances in both countries.

“Dala” means “home” in Nina Ogot’s mother tongue, Dholuo. In this album the musician moulds her roots into a modern upbeat sound. For inspiration, Nina Ogot looked to the older generation of Kenyan musical gurus like Daudi Kabaka and Joseph Ngala. Benga hooks, groovy percussions, classical string arrangements, catchy horns and vocals all testify to the musical prowess of Nina Ogot’s band. This record therefore promises its audience a rich and colourful musical palette.


1. Nina Ogot – Dala
2. Nina Ogot – Rafiki
3. Nina Ogot – Mama
4. Nina Ogot – Yuwapi
5. Nina Ogot – Siku Moja
6. Nina Ogot – Tabasamu
7. Nina Ogot – Silly Bird
8. Nina Ogot – Pole Pole
9. Nina Ogot – Taa
10. Nina Ogot – Amor


%d bloggers like this: