Skip to content

Nils Landgren, Michael Wollny, Lars Danielsson, Wolfgang Haffner – 4 Wheel Drive (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Nils Landgren, Michael Wollny, Lars Danielsson, Wolfgang Haffner – 4 Wheel Drive (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:36 minutes | 983 MB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

4 wheel-drives may cause pollution, but they go fast! Nils Landgren was keenly aware of this power when he decided to name his album 4 Wheel Drive. Alongside him, the record’s three other wheels are Michael Wollny (piano), Lars Danielsson (bass) and Wolfgang Haffner (drums). These musicians, who are some of the driving forces of today’s European jazz, play with impressive unity under the leadership of a charismatic yet never despotic leader, Swedish Nils Landgren, who plays trombone (and sings). They revisit hits of 4 major pop artists, Paul McCartney, Billy Joel, Phil Collins and Sting, whose songs comprise eight out of the twelve tracks on the record, choosing a fan-friendly repertoire while always adding a distinctive twist. These songs’ melodic strength in today’s collective unconscious is never weakening the band’s inspired improvisations. Even Landgren’s intimate and delicate vocals bring an innovative light. – Clotilde Maréchal

1. Polygon 03:42
2. Another Day in Paradise 04:34
3. Lady Madonna 04:14
4. Shadows in the Rain 03:54
5. Lobito 03:35
6. Maybe I’m Amazed 03:47
7. She’s Always a Woman 05:42
8. Le chat sur toit 05:28
9. Just the Way You Are 04:01
10. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free 03:54
11. That’s All 04:25
12. 4Wd 03:26

Nils Landgren, trombone, vocals
Michael Wollny, piano
Lars Danielsson, bass, cello
Wolfgang Haffner, drums

Recorded October (9 – 11, 2018), mixed and mastered by Lars Nilsson at Nilento studio, Gothenburg, Sweden
Produced by Siggi Loch


%d bloggers like this: