Skip to content

Nikolay Medvedev – Rachmaninoff, Medtner & Tchaikovsky: Piano Works (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Nikolay Medvedev – Rachmaninoff, Medtner & Tchaikovsky: Piano Works (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:19:02 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Quartz Music

From Robert Matthew Walker’s notes for this debut disc of Nikolay Medvedev: Interviewed by Musical America in 1921, Rachmaninoff was asked: ‘would you agree that the heart should be the composer’s guide through the labyrinths of accepted forms?’ ‘Yes’, he replied, ‘the heart above all. Of course, the head must aid in the building of great musical structures, but by itself the head is impotent. If a composer is devoid of heart or hasn’t his heart in the right place, it is impossible for him to conceal his deficiency. This explains why Russian music is so superlatively great; it speaks so directly to the heart. That is what gives it its vital beauty, its universality of appeal, and thus all great art is universal and national in character—it were better to say local instead of national—at one and the same moment.’

1. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Andantino
2. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 2 in E-Flat Minor, Allegretto
3. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 3 in B Minor, Andante cantabile
4. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 4 in E Minor, Presto
5. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 5 in D-Flat Major, Adagio sostenuto
6. Nikolay Medvedev – No. 6, in C Major, Maestoso
7. Nikolay Medvedev – Piano Sonata in G Minor, Op. 22
8. Nikolay Medvedev – I. Moderato e risoluto
9. Nikolay Medvedev – II. Andante non troppo quasi moderato
10. Nikolay Medvedev – III. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso
11. Nikolay Medvedev – IV. Finale. Allegro vivace


%d bloggers like this: