Skip to content

New York Dolls – New York Dolls (1973/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

New York Dolls – New York Dolls (1973/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 43:08 minutes | 1,63 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Mercury Records

New York Dolls is the debut studio album by the New York Dolls. Released in 1973 on Mercury Records, it was recorded at The Record Plant and produced by Todd Rundgren. Although the album did not chart very well, it became an influential album in the punk rock movement of the 1970s and has since been regarded as one of the greatest rock debut albums, influencing bands such as the Ramones, Kiss, the Sex Pistols, The Damned, and Guns N’ Roses.

There are hints of girl group pop and more than a hint of the Rolling Stones, but The New York Dolls doesn’t really sound like anything that came before it. It’s hard rock with a self-conscious wit, a celebration of camp and kitsch that retains a menacing, malevolent edge. The New York Dolls play as if they can barely keep the music from falling apart and David Johansen sings and screams like a man possessed. The New York Dolls is a noisy, reckless album that rocks and rolls with a vengeance. The Dolls rework old Chuck Berry and Stones riffs, playing them with a sloppy, violent glee. “Personality Crisis,” “Looking for a Kiss,” and “Trash” strut with confidence, while “Vietnamese Baby” and “Frankenstein” sound otherworldly, working the same frightening drone over and over again. The New York Dolls is the definitive proto-punk album, even more than anything the Stooges released. It plunders history while celebrating it, creating a sleazy urban mythology along the way. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Personality Crisis 3:41
2 Looking For A Kiss 3:18
3 Vietnamese Baby 3:38
4 Lonely Planet Boy 4:09
5 Frankenstein 5:58
6 Trash 3:08
7 Bad Girl 3:03
8 Subway Train 4:20
9 Pills 2:47
10 Private World 3:38
11 Jet Boy 4:40

New York Dolls:
David Johansen – gong, harmonica, vocals
Arthur “Killer” Kane – bass guitar
Jerry Nolan – drums
Sylvain Sylvain – piano, rhythm guitar, vocals
Johnny Thunders – lead guitar, vocals

Additional personnel:

Buddy Bowser – saxophone
Jack Douglas – engineer
David Krebs – executive producer
Steve Leber – executive producer
Paul Nelson – executive producer
Dave O’Grady – makeup
Todd Rundgren – additional piano, Moog synthesizer, producer
Ed Sprigg – engineer
Alex Spyropoulos – piano
Marty Thau – executive producer
Toshi – photography


%d bloggers like this: