Skip to content

Neil Cowley Trio – Touch and Flee (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Neil Cowley Trio – Touch and Flee (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 35:51 minutes | 721 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Naim/Qobuz | Front cover

Touch and Flee is the new recording from Neil Cowley Trio, and marks a defining moment in the evolution of the band. It is their most daring album to date, spotlighting the ever- increasing brilliance of Cowley as a composer.

With long time band mates, Evan Jenkins on drums and Rex Horan on bass, they jump headlong into new territory to present what they describe as “our concert hall record” for an altogether deeper listening journey.

Undoubtedly, Cowley’s confidence and maturity as a composer comes from his experiences of past years. Where Cowley’s previous album saw him composing and arranging for trio and a twenty four piece string ensemble, his position last year as Musician in Residence for UK’s City of Culture saw him take a crash course in choral harmony as he composed and arranged for a choir.

Touch and Flee is the result of three gifted musicians who think as one, growing together, driving forward. A collection of tunes best savoured in a darkened room, at full volume. They demand attention, but as always, deliver to the listener the most blissful of rides.

01 – Kneel Down
02 – Winterlude
03 – Sparkling
04 – Gang of One
05 – Couch Slouch
06 – Bryce
07 – Mission
08 – Queen
09 – The Art

All compositions by Neil Cowley. Produced by Dom Monks.
Recorded by Dom Monks and Helen Broadhurst at RAK Studios, London.
Mixed by Dom Monks at Three Crows Studio, Somerset.
Mastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis Mastering, London.

Neil Cowley – piano
Rex Horan – double bass
Evan Jenkins – drums


%d bloggers like this: