Skip to content

Nazih Borish – Roots of Strings: A Musical Journey with the Arabic Oud (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Nazih Borish – Roots of Strings: A Musical Journey with the Arabic Oud (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:16 minutes | 995 MB | Genre: World
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Analekta

Music is peace. It transcends the boundaries of time and space, colours, and races to settle restless hearts wherever they are. It is as pure and innocent as the truth. Hence, when a musician comes into the world, a seed of peace is planted. So, let’s eliminate barriers, open various music cultures to each other, teach them and learn about them to enjoy a world of love and peace. A creative endeavour by nature, music is therefore not constrained by its roots nor by the people from whom it originates. Music is a universal language that awakens the conscience. It is the means through which humans seek serenity and through which music cultures across the world should connect, merge and engage in dialogue. This is precisely what the composer embodies here, melding his authentic oriental style with others that have infl uenced him, to offer us a multifl avoured drink, a toast to peace and harmony. The oud is a letter of this great alphabet. It conveys its authenticity and continues to delight listeners as it did in the past. In addition to the diversity it can bring, it is not surprising that the oud interacts and dialogues so well with the double bass and percussion, for it is considered as the ancestor of many stringed instruments. The chords that emanate from it are musical words that fly on wings to travel into hearts around the world, carrying with them messages of peace. Human beings are inherently inclined towards peace. Because music is one manifestation of this peace, it is the language that makes its way into the heart, without permission, bypassing borders, colours and ethnicities. An invitation to intercultural dialogue, music is an appeal to fraternity and peace. This is embodied in the work of composer and musician Nazih Borish, whose fi ngers dance on the strings of his oud, unleashing it to speak in its own language and tell the story of the Roots of Strings.


1. Nazihawand (Nahawand taksim) (03:30)
2. Roots of Strings (Nahawand samai) (07:09)
3. Ataba (Bayat taksim) (03:58)
4. Ali Baba Dance (06:44)
5. Bab touma (Rast taksim) (03:32)
6. Damasrose (Rast samai) (05:30)
7. Missyoulogist (Saba zamzama taksim) (03:24)
8. 2011 (05:24)
9. Take off (03:07)
10. Freak one’s (07:53)
11. Sepia (04:59)


%d bloggers like this: