Skip to content

Nancy Wilson – You and Me (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Nancy Wilson – You and Me (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 45:18 minutes | 565 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Carry On Music

With her band Heart, Nancy Wilson has recorded 16 albums and sold over 35 million albums worldwide. Within that history-making career, You and Me represents something special, as it is Nancy Wilson’s very first solo studio album. The title track ‘You and Me,’ as with several of the songs on the album, reunites Wilson with longtime collaborator Sue Ennis, who co-wrote many of Heart’s classics with Nancy, and sister Ann. ‘You and Me’ highlights the intimate feel of the album. Nancy’s singing is forward in the mix, her voice is spare, and the minimal production makes it feel like she’s right there in the same room with you. Like all the legendary music she’s created with Heart, ‘You and Me’ is an emotional, intimate conversation between a musician and an audience.

After nearly five decades in Heart—the band she shares with her vocalist sister Ann—guitarist Nancy Wilson has pulled off a neat trick: a debut solo studio album that doesn’t sound like Heart covers or castoffs. True, she doesn’t have Ann’s gale-force voice, but it’s not needed on candlelight-warm, lovely songs like the title track “You and Me,” which lets Nancy’s charmingly sibilant “S” pronunciation shine, and the romantic “I’ll Find You” (which, if anything, sounds more like a Sheryl Crow song than one from the Heart catalog). But there’s no mistaking Nancy’s molten guitar on a tenderhearted cover of Bruce Springsteen’s 9/11 firefighter tribute “The Rising” or the paisley underground-esque “The Inbetween.” The song that comes closest to a Heart number is the ballad “Walk Away”—sultry with high-drama strings—which bears a slight resemblance to “These Dreams,” one of the only hits with lead vocals by Nancy herself. The one time you might wish Ann was along for the ride is on the shoulder-shaking, Meatloaf-esque “Party at the Angel Ballroom” (“it’s a party in heaven so we can party like hell”). Backed up by Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan and rock-solid Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, Nancy sounds a bit overwhelmed. But she is right in range on a cover of the Cranberries’ foolproof “Dreams” and offers a spitfire take on “Daughter” by fellow Seattle musicians Pearl Jam. A cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” (with Sammy Hagar, not that you can necessarily find him in the mix; is that him hollering “lie-la-lie”?) is faithful but given a more jangling drum beat and almost zydeco feel. Original “The Dragon” finds Nancy cutting loose, both on the guitar and vocals; a tribute to Alice in Chains’ singer Layne Staley, who died of an overdose in 2002 after a prolonged decline, the song slinks and stomps as Nancy warns: “Don’t you go down, where the dragon waits.” It all wraps up with an absolutely beautiful and bluesy-soulful acoustic cut, “4 Edward.” Written for Eddie Van Halen, the legendary rock ’n’ roll guitarist who passed away after a stroke in 2020, it forgoes lyrics in favor of Nancy’s deft plucking and strumming: her true legacy. – Shelly Ridenour


1. Nancy Wilson – You and Me
2. Nancy Wilson – The Rising
3. Nancy Wilson – I’ll Find You
4. Nancy Wilson – Daughter
5. Nancy Wilson – Party at the Angel Ballroom
6. Nancy Wilson – The Boxer
7. Nancy Wilson – Walk Away
8. Nancy Wilson – The Inbetween
9. Nancy Wilson – Dreams
10. Nancy Wilson – The Dragon
11. Nancy Wilson – We Meet Again
12. Nancy Wilson – 4 Edward


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: