Skip to content

Mutiny – Mutiny On The Mamaship (1979/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mutiny – Mutiny On The Mamaship (1979/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 00:34:58 minutes | 730 MB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: 1979 at Sound Ideas Studio, New York, and Criteria Studio, Miami, Florida. Mastered at CBS Recording Studios, New York on the CBS Discomputer™ System

Mutiny on the Mamaship is the debut record of Parliament-Funkadelic offshoots Mutiny. The album was originally released by Columbia Records in 1979, one year after Mutiny founder Jerome Brailey left P-Funk due to financial disputes. Though a controversial record in terms of Mutiny’s heated relationship with George Clinton and the P-Funk empire, one cannot deny that this record is overflowing with funky grooves.
One of 1979’s overlooked P-Funk goodies was Mutiny on the Mamaship, the debut album by George Clinton disciples Mutiny. Parliament/Funkadelic’s influence is impossible to miss on this very derivative LP, which can hardly be called innovative and certainly won’t win any awards for its originality. Some reviewers slammed Mutiny leader Jerome Brailey for going out of his way to emulate Parliament/Funkadelic; the thing is, he does it so darn well that you’ll be tapping your foot while you’re commenting on the album’s lack of originality. When Mutiny tears into goofy Clinton-esque numbers like “Lump,” “Romeo (Hope You’re Feeling Better),” and “Funk ‘N’ Bop,” the P-Funk grooves aren’t mildly infectious — they’re extremely infectious. You might end up complaining about how Mutiny goes to such trouble to sound like Parliament/Funkadelic most of the time — and your complaints wouldn’t be unwarranted — but you’ll want to get up and dance while you’re complaining. –Alex Henderson

1 Go Away from Here 4:13
2 What More Can I Say 4:34
3 Lump 4:36
4 Funk ‘N’ Bop 4:17
5 Burning Up 4:09
6 Voyage to the Bottom of the “P” 4:03
7 Everytime You Come Around 3:59
8 Romeo (Hope You’re Feeling Better) 5:06

Jerome Brailey – Drums, percussion, Syndrums, vocals
Lenny Holmes – Lead guitar, vocals
Skitch Lovett – Guitars, vocals
Raymond Carter – Bass guitars, vocals, smiles
Nat Lee – Keyboards, semi-vocals
Daryl Dixon, Marvin Daniels, Melvin El – Horns


%d bloggers like this: