Skip to content

Muddy Waters – Folk Singer (1964/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Muddy Waters – Folk Singer (1964/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 40:34 minutes | 1,82 GB | Genre: Blues
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Geffen Records

There are a handful of landmark albums in any genre. In the blues, one of them is Muddy Waters’ Folk Singer. Originally released in 1964, Folk Singer was the only acoustic album Waters ever recorded, thus becoming the first and perhaps best blues concept album ever. Now, Folk Singer, which includes fellow blues greats Buddy Guy and Willie Dixon backing up Waters, is being re-released in an expanded version that features two bonus tracks recorded during the two 1964 sessions that followed those for the album – “The Same Thing” and “You Can’t Lose What You Never Had”. Muddy Waters was the king of electric Chicago blues, but on Folk Singer he proved to be, simply, one of the greats of 20th century music.

Muddy’s “unplugged” album was cut in September of 1963 and still sounds fresh and vital today. It was Muddy simply returning to his original style on a plain acoustic guitar in a well-tuned room with Willie Dixon on string bass, Clifton James on drums, and Buddy Guy on second acoustic guitar. The nine tracks are divvied up between full rhythm section treatments with Buddy and Muddy as a duo and the final track, “Feel Like Going Home,” which Waters approaches solo. What makes this version of the album a worthwhile buy is the inclusion of five bonus tracks from his next two sessions: An April 1964 session brings us Willie Dixon’s “The Same Thing” and Muddy’s “You Can’t Lose What You Never Had,” while the October 1964 session features J.T. Brown on sax and clarinet on “Short Dress Woman” and “My John the Conqueror Root,” as well as “Put Me in Your Lay Away,” another strong side. Folk Singer offers both sides of Muddy from the early ’60s.

01 – My Home Is In The Delta
02 – Long Distance Call
03 – My Captain
04 – Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
05 – You Gonna Need My Help
06 – Cold Weather Blues
07 – Big Leg Woman
08 – Country Boy
09 – Feel Like Going Home
10 – You Can’t Lose What You Never Had
11 – The Same Thing

Folk Singer, both the original and this re-release, features many of the songs Muddy made famous early in his career. Recorded in 1963 with Guy on guitar, Dixon on bass and Clifton James on drums, the album spotlights remarkably beautiful updates of songs which first established his place in blues history, such as “My Home Is In The Delta,” “Country Boy” and “Long Distance Call,” as well as the chain gang song “My Captain.” There’s also his solo version of “Feel Like Going Home,” his first major R&B hit in the late ’40s.

This album was engineered by Mal Chisholm with all tube microphones of the day at Chess Studios Chicago. This classic blues album is one of the most remarkable sounding audiophile-quality records of the 20th century. Mal managed to capture a perfectly rich vocal sound on Muddy’s voice in a beautiful reverberant field. A must-have album to hear the human male voice.


%d bloggers like this: