Skip to content

Mose Allison – Mose Allison Sings (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) (1963/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mose Allison – Mose Allison Sings (1963/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:25 minutes | 508 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Prestige Records
Recorded: March 7,1957 and February 13,1959 at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ
Remastered: 2006, Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ

When he arrived in New York, Mississippi native Mose Allison presented himself as a piano player who occasionally sang and played trumpet. This was the balance Allison struck on six memorable Prestige albums recorded between 1957 and ’59; but what really caught the public’s attention and made him one of the music’s most influential crossover artists were Allison’s sly down-home vocals on blues classics and the clever lyrics of his originals.

All of the Prestige vocals were originally collected on the LP Mose Allison Sings, which quickly became the definitive Allison collection. When that album was reissued on compact disc, it was enhanced with two piano trio instrumentals, a rare sampling of the Allison trumpet, and the new title Greatest Hits, and became an even more comprehensive view of a jazz sage who is still going strong nearly 50 years later.

This is the first time an all-vocal Mose Allison album has been issued. It contains examples of the several types of material with which he comprises his repertoire: the blues; the “blues ballad”; and the ballad standard.

1. The Seventh Son 02:40
2. Eyesight To The Blind 01:44
3. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me 03:14
4. Lost Mind 03:34
5. I’ve Got A Right To Cry 02:51
6. Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand 03:18
7. Parchman Farm 03:20
8. If You Live 02:31
9. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore 02:49
10. One Room Country Shack 03:04
11. I Hadn’t Anyone Till You 02:35
12. Young Man’s Blues 01:27
13. That’s All Right 02:29
14. Blueberry Hill 02:58
15. Trouble In Mind 03:16
16. Creek Bank 04:35


Mose Allison, vocals, piano
Addison Farmer (#1-9,11,13,15,16), Taylor La Fargue (#10,12,14), bass
Frank Isola (#10,12,14), Nick Stabulas (#4,6,7,9,11,15), Ronnie Free (#1-3,5,8,13,16), drums

24-bit digital remastering by Rudy Van Gelder
Produced by Bob Weinstock

“I was the engineer on the recording sessions and I also made the masters for the original LP issues of these albums. Since the advent of the CD, other people have been making the masters. Mastering is the final step in the process of creating the sound of the finished product. Now, thanks to the folks at the Concord Music Group who have given me the opportunity to remaster these albums, I can present my versions of the music on CD using modern technology. I remember the sessions well, I remember how the musicians wanted to sound, and I remember their reactions to the playbacks. Today, I feel strongly that I am their messenger.”
-Rudy Van Gelder


%d bloggers like this: