Skip to content

Miles Davis – The Musings Of Miles (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) (1955/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Miles Davis – The Musings Of Miles (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) (1955/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 35:52 minutes | 423 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Prestige Records
Recorded: Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ, June 7, 1955
Remastered: 2008, Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ

This was a forerunner of the Miles Davis Quintet as it was his first session with Red Garland and Philly Joe Jones. Up to then his Prestige dates had been of the “all star” variety. (Oscar Pettiford fills that bill here.) By the fall, John Coltrane and Paul Chambers would come aboard to help form the first of a continuum of great Davis working groups. On “A Night in Tunisia” Philly Joe used special sticks with little cymbals riveted to the shaft.

Miles Davis was in the process of forming his first classic quintet when he recorded this date, a Prestige set reissued by the audiophile label DCC Compact Classics. The trumpeter is featured on a quartet outing with pianist Red Garland, bassist Oscar Pettiford, and drummer Philly Joe Jones, playing four standards plus a blues (“Green Haze”) and “I Didn’t,” his answer to Thelonious Monk’s “Well, You Needn’t.” Garland and Jones would soon be in Miles’ group, although the fiery Pettiford proved too difficult for the trumpeter to handle and was quickly succeeded by Paul Chambers. The interpretations are generally lyrical and melodic; even “A Night in Tunisia” sounds a bit mellow. Likable if not essential music. ~~AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 Will You Still Be Mine? 6:19
2 I See Your Face Before Me 4:43
3 I Didn’t 6:02
4 A Gal In Calico 5:15
5 A Night In Tunisia 7:20
6 Green Haze 5:48

Miles Davis – trumpet
Oscar Pettiford – bass
Red Garland – piano
Philly Joe Jones – drums


%d bloggers like this: