Skip to content

Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins – Dig (1956/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Miles Davis Featuring Sonny Rollins – Dig (1956/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:02 minutes | 715 MB
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:02 minutes | 402 MB
Studio Mono Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet

Recorded in one day in October 1951, these tracks allowed Miles Davis and Sonny Rollins to stretch out together like they had never done in the studio before, delivering fluid solos with warmth and emotion. The rest of the musicians on this pivotal session are equally praiseworthy: a teenage Jackie McLean on alto sax on most songs, pianist Walter Bishop and bassist Tommy Porter, all held together by the explosive drive of drummer Art Blakey.

Tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins was present as a member of the Miles Davis sextet (alto saxophonist Jackie McLean, pianist Walter Bishop, bassist Tommy Potter, drummer Art Blakey) on Dig, which was part of a 10/5/51 session, all of which was also on a two-fer. I love this music, but I have to admit it sounds dated. This wasn’t Miles Davis’ best, but I’ve always appreciated it for McLean’s cutting sax work.


01 – Dig
02 – It’s Only A Paper Moon
03 – Denial
04 – Bluing
05 – Out Of The Blue

Produced by Bob Weinstock.
Recorded on October 5, 1951 at Apex Studio, New York.
Digitally Remastered.

Miles Davis – trumpet
Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Jackie McLean – alto saxophone (on Davis originals only)
Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
Tommy Potter – double bass
Art Blakey – drums

FLAC 24-192

FLAC 24-96

%d bloggers like this: