Skip to content

Miles Davis – Blue Haze (1954/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Miles Davis – Blue Haze (1954/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 36:38 minutes | 759 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Prestige

Blue Haze is a compilation album of tracks recorded in 1953 and 1954 by Miles Davis for Prestige Records.

The album is a reissue in 12″ format of the 10″ LP Miles Davis Quartet (PRLP 161), with “I’ll Remember April” added. Tracks 4,6, 7, and 8 come from Prestige PREP 1326, The Miles Davis Quartet, recorded 19 May 1953. It features a quartet with John Lewis on piano —replaced on “Smooch” by its co-composer Charles Mingus— Percy Heath, the bassist throughout the album, and Max Roach on drums. Tracks 2, 3, and 5, from March 15, 1954, with Horace Silver on piano and Art Blakey on drums, were first released on PREP 1360, titled Miles Davis Quartet. The first track on the album “I’ll Remember April” is from the 3 April 1954 session and was originally included on the 10″ LP Miles Davis Quintet (PRLP 185).

The compositions “Four” and “Tune Up” were always credited to Davis, although both were claimed by Eddie Vinson to be his compositions. Vinson was a known blues singer at that time and had no use for them and gave Davis permission to record them. No one expressed opposition to the false crediting until decades later.

The album’s last track, “Miles Ahead” is not the same composition as featured on the album of the same name, but is the changes to John Lewis’ tune “Milestones”.


1. Miles Davis – I’ll Remember April
2. Miles Davis – Four In One
3. Miles Davis – Old Devil Moon
4. Miles Davis – Smooch
5. Miles Davis – Blue Haze
6. Miles Davis – When Lights Are Low
7. Miles Davis – Tune Up
8. Miles Davis – Miles Ahead


%d bloggers like this: