Skip to content

Mighty Oaks – All Things Go (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mighty Oaks – All Things Go (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:44 minutes | 771 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © BMG Rights Management GmbH

With their new song ‘All Things Go’ Mighty Oaks announce their third album, set for release in 2020. The first single of the new longplayer bridges the gap between their last acoustic EP and the new chapter in their band history. A history that the Berlin based indie-folk trio comprised of Ian Hooper (US), Claudio Donzelli (Italy) and Craig Saunders (UK) began over ten years ago in a living room in the German capital and that has lead to two records (2014: Howl, 2017: Dreamers), hundreds of gigs across the world, and shared stages with the likes of Kings of Leon, The Lumineers and Chvrches.

All Things Go: the title of this album by the Berlin-based band (that is nevertheless cosmopolitan) above all shows a shift in aesthetic for American Ian Hooper, the Italian Claudio Donzelli and the Brit Craig Saunders. All things go… everything is transient. The trio distances itself from the folk which originally brought them success (notably in 2014 with Howl), instead directing themselves towards a more poppy sound. Beyond this change of style, the members of Mighty Oaks wanted to show the importance leaving your comfort zone, whatever that may be, to explore and conquer new horizons. In other words, they are making pop music to put across a message that is, paradoxically, rather different to the image associated with this light and airy genre. Just like Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen (two of Hooper’s idols), the songs of the album express intense and/or painful life experiences, like friendship (Tell Me What You’re Thinking) and anxiety, whether it be linked to the past (Lost Again) or the uncertain future (Forget Tomorrow). The lead singer’s loss of his mother, which he has learned to accept with time, is also touched upon in the title track (All Things Go). Sometimes, it’s life itself which pulls us from the safety nets that we build ourselves, leaving us with no choice but to fall into an unknown which can end up making you smile (Fly To You). This is the keystone of an album which covers serious topics with a lightweight spirit. – Nicolas Magenham


01. All Things Go (03:27)
02. I Need You Now (03:43)
03. Tell Me What You’re Thinking (03:05)
04. Forget Tomorrow (03:10)
05. Lost Again (03:36)
06. Aileen (03:52)
07. What You Got (02:35)
08. Crazy (03:02)
09. Fly to You (04:13)
10. Light the World on Fire (03:03)
11. Kids (03:00)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: