Skip to content

Michael Wollny and Vincent Peirani – Tandem (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Michael Wollny & Vincent Peirani – Tandem (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:14 minutes | 849 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source Q0buz | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ACT Music

This duo of superb musicians can simultaneously be highly refined, and yet completely off-the-wall. They are two of the brightest lights of the international firmament of jazz as seen through a European prism. They have also put down a marker with “Tandem”: their stellar collaboration is most definitely going places. The dialogue between Wollny and Peirani constantly brims with ideas, and they also have a perfect way of circling in and out of each other’s way.

Between them, the German pianist Michael Wollny and French accordionist Vincent Peirani create as rich a variety of musical sounds, textures and forms as you’re ever likely to hear from two acoustic instruments. In style, these 10 pieces go from highly structured arrangement through more conventional jazz treatment to abstract free improvisation. Each has a charm of its own, makes perfect sense and is formidably well played. Outstanding among them are Wollny’s Bells and arrangements of Barber’s Adagio for Strings and Björk’s Hunter. Even in the quietest passages the dynamic rapport between the two is obvious. The two final tracks are live concert recordings, where the duet’s improvisation bears out Wollny’s description of playing with Peirani as “like tennis on fast forward”.

01 – Song yet Untitled
02 – Adagio for Strings
03 – Hunter
04 – Bells
05 – Did You Say Rotenberg?
06 – Sirenes
07 – Uniskate
08 – Vignette
09 – Fourth of July
10 – Travesuras

Produced by Siggi Loch with Michael Wollny & Vincent Peirani.
Recorded by Jean-Paul Gonnod at Studio Sequenza, Montreuil (Paris), May 4 & 5, 2016
Tracks “09 & 10” recorded by Adrian von Ripka live at Schloss Elmau, February 17, 2016.
Mixed by Jean-Paul Gonnod. Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann.

Michael Wollny – piano
Vincent Peirani – accordion & accordina


%d bloggers like this: