Skip to content

Metallica & San Francisco Symphony – S&M2 (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Metallica & San Francisco Symphony – S&M2 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 02:23:25 minutes | 1,79 GB | Genre: Metal, Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © EMI

Live album recorded with the San Francisco Symphony, conducted by Michael Tilson Thomas. The concert was held on March 18, 2019 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the original ‘S&M’ concert in 1999. A second concert was later added on September 8. This version includes two CDs.

Who can forget the first S&M (Symphony and Metallica) released in 1999, where the Four Horsemen performed their best hits with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. That first performance was conducted by Michael Kamen and was hailed by critics and fans alike. There was huge demand for a second performance and it finally became a reality in 2019. Led this time by Michael Tilson Thomas, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and Metallica offer a purer vision than the one Kamen chose twenty years earlier. Rather than adding on layers of brass and strings like Kamen did, Tilson Thomas truly uses the orchestra to support the Californians’ music rather than enveloping it, retaining the essence of the original pieces, which become even more intense. This is a union between two worlds and the superimposed feeling of the first S&M disappears

The grandiloquent overture The Ecstacy of Gold (Ennio Morricone) introduces the instrumental The Call of Ktulu with an almost jubilant brilliance. Metallica also ventures into more acoustic lands (the band becoming more and more inclined to revisit their pieces in different tonalities) letting James Hetfield and the orchestra transport us into almost aerial atmospheres, like on All Within My Hands.

Not just in a supporting role, the San Francisco Orchestra uses Metallica for relevant and enjoyable performances of Serge Prokofiev’s Scythian Suite (Chuzhbog and The Dance of the Dark Spirits) and The Iron Foundry Opus 19 (Alexander Mosolov). Excellent choices that manage to grab you by the throat and convey an astonishing atmosphere. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth, an instrumental originally composed and played by the late bassist Cliff Burton, is covered by double bassist Scott Pingel, making for a real highlight of the concert.

It’s a slight shame that Metallica chose to include some of their classics which are less suitable for this exercise, as it would have perhaps given a more logical and cohesive setlist. S&M 2 is surprising and moving but also a bit frustrating at times. The Four Horsemen seem determined to take their catalogue in unexpected directions and to please themselves and their audience at the same time. Who knows where the limit will be… the further away the better it seems! © Maxime Archambaud


01. The Ecstasy Of Gold [Live] (02:42)
02. The Call Of Ktulu [Live] (09:14)
03. For Whom The Bell Tolls [Live] (04:37)
04. The Day That Never Comes [Live] (08:27)
05. The Memory Remains [Live] (05:42)
06. Confusion [Live] (06:41)
07. Moth Into Flame [Live] (06:18)
08. The Outlaw Torn [Live] (10:03)
09. No Leaf Clover [Live] (05:30)
10. Halo On Fire [Live] (08:20)

CD 2
01. Intro To Scythian Suite [Live] (05:17)
02. Prokofiev: Scythian Suite, Op. 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits [Live] (03:39)
03. Intro To The Iron Foundry [Live] (01:02)
04. Mosolov: The Iron Foundry, Op. 19 [Live] (04:16)
05. The Unforgiven III [Live] (08:19)
06. All Within My Hands [Live] (06:14)
07. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth [Live] (07:28)
08. Wherever I May Roam [Live] (06:32)
09. One [Live] (09:24)
10. Master Of Puppets [Live] (08:30)
11. Nothing Else Matters [Live] (06:40)
12. Enter Sandman [Live] (08:48)


%d bloggers like this: