Skip to content

Mavis Staples – Live in London (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mavis Staples – Live in London (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 56:29 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Anti – Epitaph

Mavis Staples has announced ‘Live in London,’ a new live album recorded over two nights at London’s Union Chapel (which she calls “the best place in the world to sing”) and produced by Staples herself. ‘Live in London’ reveals that the singer retains astonishing power after seventy years as a performer and that while her repertoire continues to expand her philosophy is unchanged since her days in the groundbreaking family group, the Staple Singers.

Ironically her last live record—2008’s ‘Hope at the Hideout’—was cut against the background of her fellow Chicagoan Barack Obama’s historic election, while the new album inevitably addresses the horrors of the Donald Trump era. “No Time for Cryin’“ not only connects the timeless gospel image of “motherless children” to the modern-day refugee crisis, it also calls for action, just as Pops Staples and his children did during the Civil Rights movement.

It’s kind of unbelievable to me that I’m still recording. I never thought I would still be singing at my age, and people seem to really want to hear me, they know me, they give me love – I’m just overwhelmed, really. I thank God every night before I go to bed and then again every morning for waking up.” Few people would have imagined that at 79 years old Mavis Staples would still be reaching a wide audience and recording albums. Her inner strength is fully intact and this live performance at the Union Chapel in London just goes to prove it. Trump’s America acts as a good source of inspiration and a powerful fuel for this voice that sings about God, love, and all the injustices and evils that surround us. She’s just as politically engaged as she was during The Staple Singers’ heyday (who were led by Pops Staples, her illustrious father) when the band released several protest songs for the Civil Rights Movement. Here, the gospel queen essentially sings songs from albums that she has released on the label ANTI since 2007. From Love and Trust by Ben Harper to Funkadelic’s Can You Get to That and What You Gonna Do (which she sang during the sixties with The Staple Singers), from Let’s Do It Again by Curtis Mayfield to Slippery People by Talking Heads, Mavis Staples’ voice turns everything it touches into gold.  – Marc Zisman

1. Love And Trust (Live)
2. Who Told You That (Live)
3. Slippery People (Live)
4. What You Gonna Do (Intro) [Live]
5. What You Gonna Do (Live)
6. Take Us Back (Live)
7. You Are Not Alone (Live)
8. No Time For Cryin’ (Live)
9. Can You Get to That (Live)
10. Let’s Do It Again (Live)
11. Dedicated (Live)
12. We’re Gonna Make It (Live)
13. Encore: Happy Birthday (Encore) [Live]
14. Touch A Hand (Live)


%d bloggers like this: