Skip to content

Mats Eilertsen – And Then Comes The Night (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Mats Eilertsen – And Then Comes The Night (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 47:30 minutes | 831 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

His double bass has often featured on albums by artists such as Tord Gustavsen, Trygve Seim, Mathias Eick and Jakob Young. But Mats Eilertsen has always kept some time free for his own projects. With Harmen Fraanje on piano and Thomas Strønen on drums, the Norwegian double bass player has once again unveiled his understated poetry on this superb record And Then Comes The Night, the third album by the ten-year-old trio. Following Sails Set (2013), which was released on the brilliant label Hubro, this record was recorded in Lugano in May 2018 and reveals a group who are at the height of their complicity. Fans of producer Manfred Eicher will find all the ingredients of ECM works here, especially since the group come from Scandinavia, but the trio still manage to add a fresh twist to the recipe. And Then Comes The Night is not just your umpteenth album in the dense ECM catalogue. Eilertsen and his accomplices give pride of place to their improvisations. And by sticking relatively closely to the melodic framework, they achieve a tone and a sound of their own. – Marc Zisman

1. 22
2. Perpetum
3. Albatross
4. After The Rain
5. The Void
6. Solace
7. Sirens
8. Then Comes The Night
9. Soften
10. 22 (var.)

Harmen Fraanje: piano;
Mats Eilertsen: double bass;
Thomas Strønen: drums.


%d bloggers like this: