Skip to content

Mastodon – Emperor Of Sand (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mastodon – Emperor Of Sand (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:12 minutes | 642 MB | Genre: Rock, Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Reprise

Emperor Of Sand finds Mastodon returning to a deeply imaginative and complex conceptual storyline that ponders the nature of time. Threading together the myth of a man sentenced to death in a majestically malevolent desert, the band conjures the grains of a musical and lyrical odyssey slipping quickly through a cosmic hourglass.

Mastodon set the bar high with Emperor of Sand. It was written in difficult circumstances emotionally and creatively. Like their first three albums (and unlike their last two), this is a concept album. Its dominant theme is of time running out, and its 11 tracks offer an allegorical story of a man handed a death sentence by a desert sultan. To escape, he flees into the expanse of the geography’s emptiness, but the further he goes, the more lost he becomes in the sand as an unrelenting sun begins to claim his energy and ultimately his body – think radiation poisoning. Desperate, he attempts to communicate telepathically with tribes of various races and historical periods to make rain fall and stop that progression. The concept is poignant: guitarist Bill Kelliher’s mother passed away from brain cancer in 2016. The music grew out of long jams intended to address his grief and help him heal. The notion of time’s eternal passage haunts every song here.

01 – Sultan’s Curse
02 – Show Yourself
03 – Precious Stones
04 – Steambreather
05 – Roots Remain
06 – Word to the Wise
07 – Ancient Kingdom
08 – Clandestiny
09 – Andromeda
10 – Scorpion Breath
11 – Jaguar God


%d bloggers like this: