Skip to content

Mary Halvorson Octet – Away With You (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mary Halvorson Octet – Away With You (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:00 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Firehouse 12 Records

Continuing her streak of outstanding releases, guitarist extraordinaire Mary Halvorson once again shows her determination to build upon her unique style as a composer and bandleader. She’s taken her septet from 2013’s superb Illusionary Sea and added an eighth member, pedal steel guitarist Susan Alcorn, and the resulting music is typical Halvorson: harmonically complex, emotionally compelling, and full of interesting moments worth savoring.

1. Spirit Splitter (No. 54)
2. Away with You (No. 55)
3. The Absolute Almost (No. 52)
4. Sword Barrel (No. 58)
5. Old King Misfit (No. 57)
6. Fog Bank (No. 56)
7. Safety Orange (No. 59)
8. Inky Ribbons (No. 53)

Mary Halvorson – guitar
Susan Alcorn – pedal steel guitar
Jonathan Finlayson – trumpet
Jon Irabagon – alto saxophone
Ingrid Laubrock – tenor saxophone
Jacob Garchik – trombone
John Hébert – bass
Ches Smith – drums


%d bloggers like this: