Skip to content

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Sometimes Just the Sky (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Sometimes Just the Sky (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:01:16 minutes | 652 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Lambent Light Records

Mary Chapin Carpenter’s anticipated new album, ‘Sometimes Just The Sky’, is a celebration of her acclaimed 30-year recording career. The landmark record features new versions of some of Carpenter’s most beloved songs as well as one newly written song, which became the title track. Produced by Ethan Johns (Ryan Adams, Paul McCartney, Ray LaMontagne), the 13-track album was recorded entirely live at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios outside Bath, England. Over the course of her celebrated career, Carpenter has sold over 14 million records.

In 1987, the track Heroes And Heroines closed Hometown Girl, the first album from a new folk & country singer named Mary Chapin Carpenter. 30 years later, the New Jersey native presents to us Sometimes Just The Sky, a story from the same mould. Produced by Ethan Jones and recorded in Real World Studios by Peter Gabriel in Bath, England. This disc is in fact exclusively made up of old tracks, sometimes beyond recognition, that she took from her vast repertoire of twelve works. It’s all in a way that underlines their timelessness. Mary Chapin Carpenter never makes waves, never raises the tone. On the contrary, it’s with the proximity of her voice and with the simple things of everyday life that she is capable of really touching her audience. And obviously in the class of her composing.

1. Heroes and Heroines 04:14
2. What Does It Mean to Travel 03:36
3. I Have a Need for Solitude 04:35
4. One Small Heart 05:18
5. The Moon and St. Christopher 04:25
6. Superman 06:08
7. Naked to the Eye 03:31
8. Rhythm of the Blues 03:59
9. This is Love 05:20
10. Jericho 04:43
11. The Calling 04:02
12. This Shirt 05:02
13. Sometimes Just the Sky 06:23


%d bloggers like this: