Skip to content

Martin Tingvall – The Rocket (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Martin Tingvall – The Rocket (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 59:28 minutes | 995 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © SKIP Records

On “The Rocket” Martin Tingvall more than ever before created his own genre and takes his audience on a journey into new musical worlds. But don’t let yourself be fooled by the title: “The Rocket” is starting slowly and gentle into space. Martin Tingvall who is known as a jazzpianist but also feels at home in genres like rock, pop and filmmusic, has composed simple sounding but emotional touching melodies which seem to appear classical music themes. “Our world is rapidly changing. Digitisating is changing almost all areas of society and our daily life. With this album I wanted to create a counter-pole of tranquillity. At the same time I’m exploring new musical worlds. And it is always the music showing me the way.”

From album to album, the Swedish pianist currently dwelling in Hamburg has refined his synthesis between jazz, 19th century music and Swedish folklore. On The Rocket, Tingvall has further simplified his formula for trans-national, melody-centric music. As is often the case with him, travel is a dominant theme. Inspired, minimal and weightless, his solitary piano playing is like a trail of breadcrumbs that never ends. Although the voice of his elders – John Taylor, Keith Jarret or Esbjörn Svensson – is never far, Martin Tingvall has his own way of writing songs that are as lyrical as they are fun.  – Max Dembo

01. Hope
02. First Steps
03. The Rocket III
04. Floating
05. Piano Man
06. Dark Matter
07. In Motion
08. From Above
09. Echoes from the Past
10. No Gravity
11. Lost in Space
12. Tales
13. Castle Song
14. Goodbye
15. The Rocket I (Bonustrack)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: