Skip to content

Martin Stadtfeld – Christmas Piano (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Martin Stadtfeld – Christmas Piano (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 00:42:26 minutes | 369 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical – Sony Music

German pianist Martin Stadtfeld recorded a special Christmas album featuring well-known Christmas melodies such as “Stille Nacht” (Silent night), “In the bleak midwinter” and “Maria durch ein Dornwald ging” and “Vom Himmel hoch” which are newly arranged by Martin Stadtfeld himself for “Christmas Piano”. In addition, Stadtfeld contributed to “Christmas Piano” his own pieces, especially the eleven-part contemplative piano cycle “Christmas Time”, two variations after Praetorius’ “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen” and two intermezzi after Praetorius’ “Vom Himmel hoch”. Already at the end of 2020, when no concerts could take place due to the pandemic, Stadtfeld had sent short musical Advent greetings to his audience via social media channels to cheer them up. The experience of this sharing and the positive response to his music gave him the idea for his new album. Right at the beginning, Stadtfeld’s “Christmas Time” sounds, consisting of 11 atmospheric miniatures. Titles like “Happy Time”, “Wish List” or “Anticipation” conjure up images of joyful anticipation and shining children’s eyes during Christmas times. Just as in his own piano cycle, Martin Stadtfeld let’s listeners participate in his Christmas imagination in his arrangements of traditional carols and pieces by classical composers. “Christmas Piano” also includes “Canonische Veränderungen über Vom Himmel hoch” (Canonical Changes on High Heaven) by Johann Sebastian Bach arranged for piano and trumpet, in which Martin Stadtfeld’s brother Stephan also makes a guest appearance on the trumpet.

1. Martin Stadtfeld – I. Happy Time
2. Martin Stadtfeld – II. Dream
3. Martin Stadtfeld – III. Wish List
4. Martin Stadtfeld – IV. Bells
5. Martin Stadtfeld – V. Reflection 1
6. Martin Stadtfeld – VI. Anticipation
7. Martin Stadtfeld – VII. Reflection 2
8. Martin Stadtfeld – VIII. Sleepless
9. Martin Stadtfeld – IX. Reflection 3
10. Martin Stadtfeld – X. In the Church
11. Martin Stadtfeld – XI. Happiness is Never Enough
12. Martin Stadtfeld – In the Bleak Midwinter (Arr. for Piano by Martin Stadtfeld)
13. Martin Stadtfeld – Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Arr. for Piano by Martin Stadtfeld)
14. Martin Stadtfeld – Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (Arr. for Piano by Martin Stadtfeld)
15. Martin Stadtfeld – Two Variations after Praetorius’ “Es ist ein Ros entsprungen”
16. Martin Stadtfeld – Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her à 3 (Arr. for Piano by Martin Stadtfeld)
17. Martin Stadtfeld – Intermezzo I after “Vom Himmel hoch”
18. Martin Stadtfeld – Gesú Bambino (Arr. for Piano & Clavichord by Martin Stadtfeld)
19. Stephan Stadtfeld – Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 769: Canon I (Arr. for Clavichord & Fluegelhorn by Martin Stadtfeld)
20. Martin Stadtfeld – Intermezzo II after “Vom Himmel hoch”
21. Stephan Stadtfeld – Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 769: Canon II (Arr. for Clavichord & Trumpet by Martin Stadtfeld)
22. Stephan Stadtfeld – Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 769: Canon III (Arr. for Clavichord & Trumpet by Martin Stadtfeld)


%d bloggers like this: