Skip to content

Marissa Nadler – Instead of Dreaming (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Marissa Nadler – Instead of Dreaming (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 40:22 minutes | 362 MB | Genre: Indie Folk, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Bella Union

Having spent the better part of her adult life on a fairly continuous tour, American singer-songwriter Marissa Nadler found a small silver lining peeking through the darkness of this ongoing era. During this unexpected time she had the opportunity to record a collection of covers to serve as a salve of serenity and comfort.

The feelings of homesickness and loss, detachment and displacement, of loneliness and sorrow- they are omnipotent right now. These are the themes explored in this collection.

Townes Van Zandt’s My Proud Mountain, Simon and Garfunkel’s Old Friends / Bookends, as well Bob Dylan’s beautiful deep cut I Was Young When I Left Home speak of a desire to return to a place of comfort. America’s Lonely People serves as a beautiful anthem to the lonely. The Santo and Johnny’s classic, Sleep Walk, has long been a favorite and so the vocal version, popularized by Betsy Brye in 1959, which is here reinvented with a evocatively modern twist. This sense of sleepwalking feels like a very current pervasive sentiment, a longing to drift away into a dream world, which is also prevalent in the King Crimson’s song Moonchild.

Instead of Dreaming has been recorded and produced by Marissa Nadler with an added touch of beautiful layering by multi-instrumentalist Milky Burgess.


1. Moon (01:47)
2. Moonchild (04:40)
3. Sleep Walk (02:28)
4. Old Friends/Bookends (03:05)
5. Lonely People (02:49)
6. Nothing Else Matters (06:15)
7. My Proud Mountains (04:50)
8. I Was Young When I Left Home (05:17)
9. I Started a Joke (03:52)
10. Sun (05:19)


%d bloggers like this: