Skip to content

Mario Pavone / Dialect Trio +1 – Blue Vertical (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mario Pavone / Dialect Trio +1 – Blue Vertical (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:01:43 minutes | 667 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Out Of Your Head Records

Blue Vertical is to be the final recording by the legendary bassist and composer Mario Pavone, who passed on May 15 2021. Though in the final stages of a 17-year battle with cancer, Pavone pushed throughout April 2021 to make sure this music would be a part of his recorded legacy. On March 25 and 26 2021 he gathered his Dialect Trio with Matt Mitchell and Tyshawn Sorey (an active group since 2014), and the addition of his longtime collaborator Dave Ballou on trumpet, to record the music that has become Blue Vertical. Blue Vertical is releasing simultaneously with the album Isabella on Clean Feed Records. In the interview “Mario Pavone Makes His Final Statement” by journalist Kevin Whitehead (recently featured in Downbeat Magazine), Pavone said:

“I’m just happy to get these two releases done. It took every bit of energy, and the music is what got me through. I’ve had a great life and I’m so appreciative of all the players who jumped in and generously contributed, from the heart. I’m grateful, happy, satisfied with my life, ready to move to this next cycle.”

1. Twardzik (06:48)
2. OKWA (07:33)
3. Blue Poles (05:53)
4. Isabella (07:56)
5. Philosophy Series (07:37)
6. Blue Vertical (05:20)
7. Good Treble (05:33)
8. Legacy Stories (06:53)
9. Face Music (08:10)


%d bloggers like this: