Skip to content

Maridalen – Maridalen (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Maridalen – Maridalen (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 42:35 minutes | 443 MB | Genre: CJazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jazzland Recordings

Maridalen follow up their Jazzland debut, “Blir det regn i dag, tru?” with “På gjensyn”, displaying more of their unique contrapuntal style, with its so-simple-it’s-complex feel and sonic origami, this time underpinned with swagger and swing.

The music is original and moves between different genres through an intimate and acoustic soundscape, a melodic and sonorous focus. Together they see the beauty in the patinated and unpolished, where the creaking of the wood and the clinking of old metal become part of the expression. It was therefore only natural that their first album was recorded in an old wooden church.

The album contains ten compositions where the listener is taken into different moods; from the melancholy of a possible rainy day, to the silence of a night suddenly broken by a passing subway car. In some places, the trio has included new sound elements, such as in the song “Urverket” where the sound has been processed through an old Tandberg tape recorder from the 50’s. The moods in each song are led by melodies that are told and processed through collective improvisation and sonic exploration.


01. Koral
02. Maridalen
03. Blir det regn i dag tru
04. Inga
05. Svartoren
06. Midt på natten et sted
07. Russisk landsbymelodi
08. Vals fra Bjølsen
09. På gjensyn
10. Urverket


%d bloggers like this: