Skip to content

Marian McPartland – Silent Pool (1997/2007) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Marian McPartland – Silent Pool (1997/2007)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 59:35 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Piano Jazz / Bop
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Concord Jazz

Her first recording with string orchestra, Silent Pool captures Marian’s distinctive, encyclopedic piano playing and her signature, lyrical original compositions in a truly mesmerizing setting. Wrapped in lush and inventive string orchestrations from the pen of acclaimed arranger Alan Broadbent, Silent Pool stands out as the landmark recording in Marian McPartland’s long and distinguished career in music.

Simply gorgeous. This beautiful, if not altogether outstanding, piano trio-and-orchestra recording is a natural for the romantic pianist Marian McPartland. -Douglas Payne, All About Jazz

Rather than “Silent Pool,” the Marian McPartland selection on this rather sleepy CD that best sums up the music is “Melancholy Mood.” Long adept at writing harmonically sophisticated originals, pianist McPartland is featured on a dozen of her compositions with the backing of 20 strings, bassist Andy Simpkins and drummer Harold Jones. Alan Broadbent’s string arrangements (a throwback in some ways to the mood music records of the 1950s) are lush, dreamy, always middle-of-the-road and sometimes dull. McPartland plays well as usual on the ballad-oriented set that includes at least three of her best-known originals (“A Delicate Balance,” “Ambiance” and “Threnody”), but the unadventurous strings clearly weigh down the music.

01 – For Dizzy
02 – Twilight World
03 – Stranger In A Dream
04 – A Delicate Balance
05 – Ambiance
06 – Silent Pool
07 – Castles In The Sand
08 – Melancholy Mood
09 – Threnody
10 – Time And Time Again
11 – There’ll Be Other Times
12 – With You In Mind



%d bloggers like this: