Skip to content

Maria Mena – Weapon In Mind (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Maria Mena – Weapon In Mind (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:10 minutes | 484 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Front Cover | © Columbia

Norwegian singer-songwriter Maria Mena is known for her sweet voice and beautiful songs. “Weapon in Mind” is her sixth studio album. All songs are written by Mena, and composed by Mena and Mats Lie Skåre, Thomas Eriksen and Martin Sjølie. With this album, Maria Mena continues to tread new ground by experimenting with music styles and while this album isn’t quite as good as her past albums, it is refreshing to hear the return of more uptempo, rhythmic music from her.

It has been a while since we have heard from her, as she releases her new album Weapon In Mind exactly two years after the release of her previous record Victoria. While Viktoria marked a change in her lyrical style (she left behind the demons from her difficult past), Mena changes her musical style on Weapon In Mind. She experiments with different sounds that one would not directly expect from her, which turns out to be a great change. Earlier this year Maria Mena probably surprised quite some people with her single, ‘Fuck You’. The song deals with haters on the internet, that only dare to insult others when they are safe behind their keyboard and monitor. The song itself sounded more poppy than most of Mena’s output. She continued the interesting, slight changes in her music with ‘I Always Liked That’, in which she states she is happy in her own skin now. The dreamy production of the track introduced the slightly more electronic sound the album follows. Still, not every track on Weapon In Mind is influenced by these experiments. On ‘I’m Only Human’, ‘I Love You Too’ and ‘The End’ we hear a more classic Maria-sound. On ‘Madness’ she tries a slightly more pop/rock sounds, which works for her as well. The most poppy attempt on the album is the infectious ‘You Make Me Feel Good’, which at the same time is the happiest and carefree we might have ever heard from Mena. ‘You Hurt The Ones You Love – I Don’t Believe That’ probably summarizes the album best. It is beautifully orchestrated, has meaningful lyrics, some slight electronic effects and Maria’s ever so gorgeous vocals. Maria Mena proves herself once again with a strong collection of personal and touching songs.

01 – Interesting
02 – Fuck You
03 – All the Love
04 – I Always Liked That
05 – Madness
06 – I Love You Too
07 – You Make Me Feel Good
08 – Caught Off Guard, Floored by Love
09 – You’re All Telling Stories
10 – Lover Let Me In
11 – I’m Only Human
12 – You Hurt the Ones You Love
13 – The End


%d bloggers like this: