Skip to content

Mahan Esfahani – Bach: The Toccatas (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mahan Esfahani – Bach: The Toccatas (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:13:07 minutes | 1,54 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © PentaTone

The exuberant vitality of Bach’s toccatas—works which the young composer probably wrote to demonstrate his own brilliance and technique as a performer—here provides the perfect showcase for the interpretative flair of Mahan Esfahani.

This is an album fit to satisfy the most refined and demanding gourmets. Magdalena Kožená and friends, including husband Sir Simon Rattle on the piano, have carefully concocted a programme of choice melodies for voice and various instrumental ensembles. Ranging from rarities (Chanson perpétuelle by Ernest Chausson opens the album) to curiosities (Arias by Dvořák, the wonderful Two Songs, Op.91 by Brahms with a bewitching solo viola played by Yulia Deyneka), the record takes in a series of treats (childish rhymes, Říkadla, by Leoš Janáček) and also affords us the precious Chansons madécasses by Ravel, an unusually lascivious and sensual denunciation of slavery and colonialism, and the very rare Three Songs from William Shakespeare, written in 1953 by a Stravinsky who had been converted to hardcore serialism by his friend Robert Craft. The excellent English soloists accompanying Magdalena Kožená show a little humour by ending this Soirée at the first rays of morning, with a transcription of Morgen by Richard Strauss for mezzo-soprano, violin and piano. English humour, for sure. – François Hudry

1. Toccata in F sharp minor, BWV910 (11:14)
2. Toccata in C minor, BWV911 (12:05)
3. Toccata in D major, BWV912 (12:33)
4. Toccata in D minor, BWV913 (14:22)
5. Toccata in E minor, BWV914 (8:04)
6. Toccata in G minor, BWV915 (10:08)
7. Toccata in G major, BWV916 (8:28)

Mahan Esfahani (harpsichord)


%d bloggers like this: