Skip to content

Lyon National Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin – Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Lyon National Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin – Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:10:33 minutes | 2,33 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD – Naxos

Leonard Slatkin conducts the Lyon National Orchestra on Berlioz’s remarkable and immensely influential Symphonie fantastique, an autobiographical tale describing a young musician’s opium-poisoned nightmares of jealous despair and fatal justice following the murder of his beloved. Berlioz added a second movement cornet obbligato in a subsequent revision of the score, included here as an optional extra.

“… this recording of Berlioz with his new orchestra is a very good one … Slatkin’s performance is very balanced …” – Audiophile Audition

“Recording of the Month … I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. You’ll find that both sonically and interpretatively it’s very reliable …” – MusicWeb International

“The Big News here is that this recording has excellent sound: not showy, punchy, hi-fi store demo sound, but clean, balanced, warm sound that flatters the performance.” – American Record Guide


1. Le corsaire, Op. 21 08:06
2. I. Reveries: Largo – Passions: Allegro agitato e appassionato assai 14:37
3. II. Un Bal (Valse): Allegro non troppo 06:38
4. III. Scene aux Champs: Adagio 17:20
5. IV. Marche au Supplice: Allegretto non troppo 07:01
6. V. Songe d’une nuit du Sabbat: Larghetto – Allegro – 03:31
7. V. Dies irae – 01:57
8. V. Ronde du sabbat – 02:51
9. V. Dies irae et Ronde du Sabbat (ensemble) 01:49
10. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: II. Un Bal (Valse): Allegro non troppo (version with cornet obbligato) 06:43

Orchestre National de Lyon
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Recorded at the Auditorium de Lyon, France, on 31st August and 1st September, 2011
Produced and engineered by Tim Handley

Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: