Skip to content

Luke Combs – What You See Is What You Get (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Luke Combs – What You See Is What You Get (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 59:36 minutes | 691 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © River House Artists – Columbia Nashville

What You See Is What You Get is the upcoming second studio album by American country music singer Luke Combs, scheduled to be released through River House Artists and Columbia Nashville on November 8, 2019. It includes all five songs previously featured on the 2019 EP The Prequel including the single “Beer Never Broke My Heart”, in addition to the track “1, 2 Many”, a collaboration with Brooks & Dunn. Combs will tour North America throughout the remainder of 2019 in promotion of the album

Luke Combs almost seems to be shrugging with the title What You See Is What You Get, a suspicion underscored by the album’s perfunctory cover art. Neither suggest that Combs harbors any grand ambitions, an impression that isn’t strictly true. The North Carolinian styles himself as a humble singer carrying on country traditions steeped in the sounds of the ’90s but with roots that stretch back much farther. Certainly Combs leans into that heritage by inviting Brooks & Dunn to sing on the rowdy “1, 2 Many,” one of many drinking tunes scattered throughout What You See Is What You Get. While he may kick up some dust, Combs is a sentimentalist, singing song after song about his home and heart. These are time-honored traditions in country and Combs never attempts to subvert expectations here, or even freshen them up. He aims straight down the middle of the road, adding a few layers of gloss and punchier rhythms to a formula he established with his 2017 debut This One’s for You, with slight alterations in the production that amount to an album that feels clean, slick, and confident, and captures a singer embracing his burgeoning stardom. If there are any flaws to What You See Is What You Get, it’s that its very length can work against it. At 60 minutes, the album runs through so many sturdy midtempo tunes about family, heartbreak, and love that the seams holding Combs’ everyday persona together start to show — all the variations on a theme can’t help but reveal the calculation behind the image — but taken on a song-by-song basis, What You See Is What You Get is a solid album, proudly made just the way they used to be back in the ’90s. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. “Beer Never Broke My Heart”
2. “Refrigerator Door”
3. “Even Though I’m Leaving”
4. “Lovin’ on You”
5. “Moon Over Mexico”
6. “1, 2 Many” (featuring Brooks & Dunn)
7. “Blue Collar Boys”
8. “New Every Day”
9. “Reasons”
10. “Every Little Bit Helps”
11. “Dear Today”
12. “What You See Is What You Get”
13. “Does to Me” (featuring Eric Church)
14. “Angels Workin’ Overtime”
15. “All Over Again”
16. “Nothing Like You”
17. “Better Together”


%d bloggers like this: