Skip to content

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real – Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real – Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:51 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Fantasy Records

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real are known for their collaborations with illustrious folk-rock and blues figures such as Neil Young and B.B. King, and their frontman is the progeny of none other than the great Willie Nelson. This self-titled release is their fifth studio album and is resplendent with the “cowboy hippie surf rock” sound the band has become known for, rendered even more eclectic (yet still stunningly cohesive) by guest appearances from Lady Gaga (Find Yourself) and indie pop quartet Lucius (Set Me Down on a Cloud).

After creating a stir for himself having performed alongside Neil Young on stage as well as on records (The Monsanto Years, Earth and The Visitor), Lukas Nelson finally starts his solo career with the simply titled Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real. With his band, Promise Of The Real funnily enough, he had already penned three other opuses that had remained rather confidential: Promise Of The Real in 2010, Wasted in 2012 and Something Real in 2016. This time, the work that was released during the Autumn of 2017 benefits from a real production and a more serious cast. It mostly abounds with everything that Willie Nelson’s son has ever heard, from when he was born right up until now: his father’s records, of course, those of his Canadian employer as well, but also a lot of blues, southern soul, guitar rock and music from the 70s. A vast catchall of Americana that never sounds dusty, even if it’s not really original. But Lukas Nelson puts such a veneer of sincerity and vitality into his songs that it’s hard not to follow him on his 100% American road trip… As for guests, the entire family’s there (the dad Willie, aunt Bobbie and brother Micah), as well as, in the choruses of two titles… Lady Gaga! Yes, the real Lady Gaga, who we never imagined in such a rootsy environment.


01 – Set Me Down On A Cloud [feat. Lucius]
02 – Die Alone [feat. Lucius]
03 – Fool Me Once [feat. Lucius]
04 – Just Outside Of Austin
05 – Carolina [feat. Lucius]
06 – Runnin’ Shine
07 – Find Yourself
08 – Four Letter Word
09 – High Times
10 – Breath Of My Baby
11 – Forget About Georgia [feat. Lucius]
12 – If I Started Over


%d bloggers like this: