Skip to content

Ludwig van Beethoven – Complete Violin Sonatas – Daishin Kashimoto, Konstantin Lifschitz (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ludwig van Beethoven – Complete Violin Sonatas – Daishin Kashimoto, Konstantin Lifschitz (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 04:30:32 minutes | 4,6 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Cover | © Warner Classics

Violinist Daishin Kashimoto and pianist Konstantin Lifschitz make their debut together on Warner with Ludwig van Beethoven’s complete violin sonatas, decidedly an ambitious undertaking. Neither artist has an extensive discography, and this is their first release as a duo, so one can imagine that the pressure of recording these sonatas in the studio must have been considerable, despite their prior experiences of playing them in recital several times. There is no question that Kashimoto has a strong affinity for Beethoven that is apparent in his nuanced phrasing and passionate playing, and that Lifschitz is with him every step of the way as an alert accompanist. Both appear to have agreed to play the notes before them, without recourse to historical styles or trends, so the interpretations are mainstream and unsurprisingly direct. Yet there is a spontaneity in the playing that suggests the sonatas haven’t been over-rehearsed or over-thought, and that both musicians are still seeking new ideas and expressions in each performance. The trimline box set contains four CDs in cardboard sleeves, and the sonatas appear in numerical order. Despite being recorded in two separate studios, in Stalden, Switzerland (sonatas 1, 6, 7, and 8) and Berlin, Germany (sonatas 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, and 10), the sound is fairly consistent throughout, with only slight variances of presence and volume levels. –AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Violin Sonata No. 1 in D major, Op. 12 No. 1
1. I. Allegro con brio
2. II. Tema con Variazioni
3. III. Rondo Allegro
Violin Sonata No. 2 in A major, Op. 12 No. 2
4. I. Allegro vivace
5. II. Andante piu tosto – Allegretto
6. III. Allegro piacévole
Violin Sonata No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 12 No. 3
7. I. Allegro con spirito
8. II. Adagio con molto espressione
9. III. Rondo: Allegro molto
Violin Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23
10. I. Presto
11. II. Andante scherzoso, piu allegretto
12. III. Allegro molto
Violin Sonata No. 5 in F major, Op. 24 ‘Spring’
13. I. Allegro
14. II. Adagio molto espressivo
15. III. Scherzo: Allegro molto
16. IV. Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo
Violin Sonata No. 6 in A major, Op. 30 No. 1
17. I. Allegro
18. II. Adagio Molto Espressivo
19. III. Allegretto Con Variazioni
Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30 No. 2
20. I. Allegro Con Brio
21. II. Adagio Cantabile
22. III. Scherzo: Allegro
23. IV. Allegro; Presto
Violin Sonata No. 8 in G major, Op. 30 No. 3
24. I. Allegro Assai
25. II. Tempo Di Minuetto, Ma Molto Moderato E Grazioso
26. III. Allegro Vivace
Violin Sonata No. 9 in A major, Op. 47 ‘Kreutzer’
27. I. Adagio sostenuto – Presto – Adagio
28. II. Andante con variazioni
29. III. Presto
Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op. 96
30. I. Allegro moderato
31. II. Adagio espressivo
32. III. Scherzo: Allegro
33. IV. Poco allegretto
Bonus Tracks:
Fritz Kreisler (1875-1962)
34. Syncopation
35. Rondino on a theme by Beethoven
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
36. Rondo for Violin and Piano in G Major, Woo. 41

Recorded: 14/17 July 2012 (Op. 12/1, Op. 30/1-3), Gabriel Recording Studio, Stalden, Switzerland; 27/31 December 2012 (Op. 12/2, Op. 23, Op. 47, Op. 96), 13/15 May 2013 (Op. 12/3, Op. 24), Teldex Studio, Berlin, Germany

Daishin Kashimoto, violin
Konstantin Lifschitz, piano


%d bloggers like this: