Skip to content

Lucia Cadotsch – Speak Low (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Lucia Cadotsch – Speak Low (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 45:45 minutes | 946 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Yellowbird Records

Remember the name Lucia Cadotsch – you’re going to be hearing a lot of it. Cadotsch is a young, Zurich-born vocalist who possesses a classical clarity, a folk singer’s simplicity, and an appetite for performing very famous songs (Moon River, Don’t Explain, Strange Fruit) in the company of two edgy free-jazz instrumentalists, who flank her sedate progress with split-note sax sounds and spiky basslines and percussive strumming. That might sound like a merciless deconstruction of fine songs, but in this compelling trio’s hands the process is remarkably melodious and illuminating. Speak Low is delivered with phlegmatic gentleness as saxophonist Otis Sandsjö’s looping ostinato gets increasingly windy and raw, and Strange Fruit is stalked by multiphonic sax growls and swiped, twanging bass chords. Cadotsch is as light-stepping and dolefully swinging as Madeleine Peyroux on Some Other Spring; low-key on Moon River, as if the very thought of the rainbow’s end is wearisome. It’s all eerily beautiful.

1. Slow Hot Wind 04:42
2. Speak Low 05:18
3. Strange Fruit 07:00
4. Ain’t Got No, I Got Life 04:28
5. Don’t Explain 04:26
6. Deep Song 03:59
7. Some Other Spring 03:16
8. Willow Weep for Me 04:42
9. Gloomy Sunday 04:49
10. Moon River 03:05

Lucia Cadotsch, vocals
Otis Sandsjö, tenor sax
Petter Eldh, double bass


%d bloggers like this: