Skip to content

Lucas Niggli – Alchemia Garden (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lucas Niggli – Alchemia Garden (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 47:26 minutes | 466 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Intakt Records

To celebrate his own 50th birthday percussionist Lucas Niggli released his solo album entitled Alchemia Garden which enchants listeners with its organic musical imagery. This solo performance sonically mimics the idea of the metamorphosis of materials and growing gardens.

Alchemia Garden: the album’s wonderful title, creates an enchanting, ambiguous effect. Lucas Niggli relates the organic, biological and growing, which develops on its own and is cultivated and maintained in the form of the garden, to the metamorphosis of material, the scientific search for something unknown which historically has been seen to generate something new. During his thirty years of playing live Lucas Niggli recorded with many musicians like Aly Kei¨ta, Barry Guy, Sylvie Courvoisier, Luciano Biondini, Michel Godard, Andreas Schaerer, Nils Wogram, Elliott Sharp, Steamboat Switzerland, Erika Stucky. He has occasionally given solo concerts, for example a performance at the big John Cage Festival in Switzerland in the late 1980s at which Cage himself witnessed Niggli’s performance of 27’ 10.554” for a Percussionist. It is time, in the best sense, for Lucas Niggli to release a solo album. What a great way to celebrate one’s own 50th birthday – with this gift to himself and the listener. New York critic Laurence Donohue-Greene writes in the liner notes: “as a drummer blessed with a percussionist’s intuitive sense and virtuosic capability and range, Niggli’s memorable solo performances here unquestionably add to the tradition of the great solo drummers who preceded him while keeping an eye on the horizon.“

01 – Alchemia Garden
02 – Flora Glow
03 – Bakossi Dew
04 – Go Goblin
05 – Tuned Arrow
06 – Seeds n’ Roots
07 – Ooze
08 – Mimosa
09 – Pulsatilla
10 – Booloobali
11 – Ohia Lehua
12 – Nelumbo Nero
13 – Villa Caroba
14 – Welwitschia
15 – Hydnora

Lucas Niggli – drums, percussion


%d bloggers like this: