Skip to content

Louis Armstrong – Hello, Dolly! (1964/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Louis Armstrong – Hello, Dolly! (1964/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:52 minutes | 807 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

Louis Armstrong’s commercial resurgence with the song “Hello, Dolly!” — a number one hit that unseated the Beatles’ “Can’t Buy Me Love” from the top spot — came as such a surprise that Kapp Records hastened to produce an album to go along with it. The resulting long-player, appropriately titled Hello, Dolly!, also went to number one and produced a second hit, the inferior “I Still Get Jealous.” As you might predict, almost all of the songs are drawn from Broadway shows, and a couple (a re-recording of “Blueberry Hill”; “A Lot of Livin’ to Do” from Bye Bye Birdie) lend a veneer of hipness to give the album a “1964 touch” without foisting completely inappropriate material on the 60-something Satchmo. Armstrong had one of the most recognizable and personality-laden voices of the 20th century, and although he was past his prime at the time, Hello, Dolly! shows him at his ’60s best. – Greg Adams


1. Louis Armstrong – Hello, Dolly!
2. Louis Armstrong – It’s Been A Long, Long Time
3. Louis Armstrong – A Lot Of Livin’ To Do
4. Louis Armstrong – A Kiss To Build A Dream On
5. Louis Armstrong – Someday
6. Louis Armstrong – Hey Look Me Over
7. Louis Armstrong – I Still Get Jealous
8. Louis Armstrong – Moon River
9. Louis Armstrong – Be My Life’s Companion
10. Louis Armstrong – Blueberry Hill
11. Louis Armstrong – You Are Woman I Am Man
12. Louis Armstrong – Jeepers Creepers


%d bloggers like this: