Skip to content

Lou Reed – New York (1989/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz + 24bit/192kHz]

Lou Reed – New York (1989/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz ,192kHz  | Time – 56:47 minutes | 1,15 + 2.1 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | ©  Warner Bros. Records
Recorded: May–October 1988, Media Sound, Studio B, New York City

New York was Lou Reed’s fifteenth studio album released in 1989. The record was considered one of Reed’s best solo albums, known for it’s great lyrical content, it featured single “Dirty Blvd.” which made it to number one on Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart.

New York City figured so prominently in Lou Reed’s music for so long that it’s surprising it took him until 1989 to make an album simply called New York, a set of 14 scenes and sketches that represents the strongest, best-realized set of songs of Reed’s solo career. While Reed’s 1982 comeback, The Blue Mask, sometimes found him reaching for effects, New York’s accumulated details and deft caricatures hit bull’s-eye after bull’s-eye for 57 minutes, and do so with an easy stride and striking lyrical facility. New York also found Reed writing about the larger world rather than personal concerns for a change, and in the beautiful, decaying heart of New York City, he found plenty to talk about — the devastating impact of AIDS in “Halloween Parade,” the vicious circle of child abuse “Endless Cycle,” the plight of the homeless in “Xmas in February” — and even on the songs where he pointedly mounts a soapbox, Reed does so with an intelligence and smart-assed wit that makes him sound opinionated rather than preachy — like a New Yorker. And when Reed does look into his own life, it’s with humor and perception; “Beginning of a Great Adventure” is a hilarious meditation on the possibilities of parenthood, and “Dime Store Mystery” is a moving elegy to his former patron Andy Warhol. Reed also unveiled a new band on this set, and while guitarist Mike Rathke didn’t challenge Reed the way Robert Quine did, Reed wasn’t needing much prodding to play at the peak of his form, and Ron Wasserman proved Reed’s superb taste in bass players had not failed him. Produced with subtle intelligence and a minimum of flash, New York is a masterpiece of literate, adult rock & roll, and the finest album of Reed’s solo career. –Mark Deming

1 Romeo Had Juliette 3:11
2 Halloween Parade 3:33
3 Dirty Blvd. 3:29
4 Endless Cycle 4:03
5 There Is No Time 3:46
6 Last Great American Whale 3:42
7 Beginning Of A Great Adventure 4:57
8 Busload Of Faith 4:50
9 Sick Of You 3:26
10 Hold On 3:24
11 Good Evening Mr. Waldheim 4:36
12 Xmas In February 2:57
13 Strawman 5:54
14 Dime Store Mystery 5:03

Lou Reed – vocals, guitar, background vocals
Mike Rathke – guitar
Rob Wasserman – Clevinger electric upright six-string bass
Fred Maher – drums on all songs except “Last Great American Whale” and “Dime Store Mystery”; Fender bass on “Romeo Had Juliette” and “Busload of Faith”

Maureen Tucker – percussion on “Last Great American Whale” and “Dime Store Mystery”
Dion DiMucci – background vocals on “Dirty Blvd”
Jeffrey Lesser – background vocals



%d bloggers like this: