Skip to content

Lori Williams – Out of the Box (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lori Williams – Out of the Box (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:08:26 minutes | 800 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © LoriJazz-CSI

DC Legend Lori Williams has a new project out called “Out Of The Box”. Although she’s been known in the Straight-Ahead Jazz ranks and is beloved in parts of Europe and Russia, this time, she’s going in a different direction as she looks to expand her audience here in the US and abroad. She’s not coming alone as she joins up with Tom Browne, Will Downing, Nathan East, and Maysa, to name a select few.

Setlist unabashedly plays favorites, and Lori Williams is by any measure near the top of the favorites list. This D.C. vocalist’s instrument contains the kind of nuances that one could get lost in. She has the kind of attenuation and subtlety that we associate with jazz singing instantly a kind of jazz-vocal ‘discipline,’ for lack of a better term. But Williams slips in hints and sometimes dead giveaways—that she has packed away the kind of soul power that would make her a tremendous R&B or gospel singer. Perhaps it’s a sort of vocalist’s twist on Ernest Hemingway’s “iceberg theory”: What you hear on the surface is only about 10 percent of what’s really there. As it happens, what is there is crystalline clarity, perhaps the most precise articulation of any singer in town, and a range that will, when she runs it, produce shivers.” “She’s got a soft-edged, creamy voice that’s a natural vehicle for introspection, but also one that you could happily curl up and get lost in. It’s stunning, supple, subtle, sumptuous, soulful music let’s call that the five S’s of Lori Williams, shall we?

Lori Williams is a special talent. She can seamlessly move from jazz to R&B where the listener can feel at home with her in either genre. It has been a pleasure working with her, as she has set the bar for vocalists to come. If you are not familiar with Lori Williams, check her out – you will not be disappointed.

01. Sailing on a Dream
02. Let’s Walk
03. I Like the Way You Talk (To Me)
04. I Can’t Help It
05. Where’s That Smile?
06. Out of the Box
07. Hold On
08. I Like the Way You Talk (To Me) [Interlude]
09. Our Love is Real
10. ‘Round Midnight
11. Little Girl Blue
12. Let’s Walk (Radio Edit)
13. Our Love is Real (Radio Edit)
14. I Like the Way You Talk (To Me) [Radio Edit]
15. Deja Vu (Radio Edit)


%d bloggers like this: