Skip to content

Little Steven – Voice Of America (Deluxe Edition) (1984/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Little Steven – Voice Of America (Deluxe Edition) (1984/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:24:37 minutes | 1,65 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Steven Van Zandt Catalog

E-Street Band guitarist Steve Van Zandt left the band following the recording of Born In The U.S.A. and released his own album, Voice Of America. It was Van Zandt’s second album, after his prior release Men Without Women, and he was again backed by the Disciples Of Soul, including bassist Jean Beauvoir, and drummer Dino Danelli. Van Zandt himself handled vocals and guitars, as well as writing and producing the record’s ten songs (the 1991 reissue included two bonus cuts). Voice Of America is a straight-ahead rock record with punk underpinnings and strong percussive rhythms. Van Zandt is a bit thin and reedy as a singer, but manages to carry through on passion and bravado. The lyrics have political overtones and occasionally come off as preachy. There’s still some riveting stuff here including the rave-up rocking wake-up call of the title track, the propulsive, synth-driven anthem “Out Of The Darkness,” and “Los Desaparecidos,” a compelling, percussive-laden cut detailing the casualties of South American politics.

01. Voice Of America (3:31)
02. Justice (3:19)
03. Checkpoint Charlie (4:38)
04. Solidarity (3:26)
05. Out Of The Darkness (4:35)
06. Los Desaparecidos (The Disappeared Ones) (5:16)
07. Fear (4:44)
08. I Am A Patriot (And The River Opens For The Righteous) (3:27)
09. Among The Believers (3:54)
10. Undefeated (Everybody Goes Home) (3:41)
11. Voice Of America Radio Spot (1984) (1:08)
12. RockNRoll Rebel (5:02)
13. Caravan (Live At Marquee Club, London, UK, October 18, 1982) (4:18)
14. I Don’t Want To Go Home (Live At Marquee Club, London, UK, October 18, 1982) (4:36)
15. Alive For The First Time (Writing Session, The Birth Of A Song / 1983) (9:10)
16. Out Of The Darkness (12” Single Version) (5:33)
17. Inside Of Me (French TV/1983) (5:13)
18. US Festival Radio Spot (1983) (0:21)
19. It’s Possible (4:24)
20. Vote! (That Mutha Out) (12” Single Version) (4:36)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: