Skip to content

Little Steven – Freedom – No Compromise (Deluxe Edition) (1987/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Little Steven – Freedom – No Compromise (Deluxe Edition) (1987/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:12:02 minutes | 1,62 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Steven Van Zandt Catalog

Freedom – No Compromise is the third solo album by Little Steven released in 1987.

Following on the moderate success of Artists United Against Apartheid’s “Sun City”, Steven Van Zandt’s next record was a full-on dance-rock record, verging in places on world music. Bruce Springsteen and Rubén Blades join Van Zandt on lead vocals on “Native American” and “Bitter Fruit”, respectively. Politics were even more at the forefront than before, centering on U.S. transgressions in Central America, South Africa, and against Native Americans. By this time, the old Disciples of Soul band had almost completely disappeared.

“It’s been a blast going through the archives and finding all these hidden gems,” says Van Zandt. “In addition to demos in various stages of completion, there are entire songs I’d completely forgotten about, and we found some really early things pre-Jukes like Southside Johnny and the Kid (the kid being me!). I’m excited to have my stuff back on vinyl for the first time in decades!”

“…in 1987, Little Steven would release Freedom No Compromise – the E Street-er’s third solo record to date. Synth-laden textures, samples, and programming aside, Freedom No Compromise is an ambitious if somewhat over-produced effort. Although, certainly not as accomplished as Steven’s sensational debut Men Without Women, the album features some fair to very good material. Overall, a good effort, but not a great one. For a better taste of the artist, spend some quality time with Men Without Women.” ( John Franck, Allmusic)

1. Freedom (5:13)
2. Trail Of Broken Treaties (6:05)
3. Pretoria (5:15)
4. Bitter Fruit (6:18)
5. No More Party’s (5:40)
6. Can’t You Feel The Fire (4:38)
7. Native American (5:37)
8. Sanctuary (6:03)
9. Bitter Fruit (Cana No Mas Dub Mix / UK 12” Single Version) (6:47)
10. Fruta Amarga (12” Single Version) (5:52)
11. No More Party’s (For Those About To Party…) (Rock Mix / 12” Single Version) (5:37)
12. No More Party’s (Funky Party Edit / R&B Mix / UK 7” Single Version) (4:18)
13. Vote Jesse In (Jesse Jackson Campaign Song) (4:45)

Steve Van Zandt, guitar, dulcimer, vocals
Steve Jordan, drums
David Beal, drums
Keith LeBlanc, drums
Romeo Williams, bass
Doug Wimbish, bass
T.M. Stevens, bass
Bernie Worrell, keyboards
Paul Shaffer, keyboards
Greg Phillinganes, keyboards
Tommy Mandel, keyboards
Richard Scher, keyboards
Bruce Springsteen, vocals on “Native American”
Rubén Blades, vocals on “Bitter Fruit”, percussion
David Beal, percussion
Monti Louis Ellison, percussion
Hilario Soto, Toyo
Zoë Yanakis, bass flute
Kenny Moore, background vocals
Cobra Jones, background vocals
Will Downing, background vocals
Craig Derry, background vocals
Wendell Morrison, background vocals

Produced by Little Steven

Digitally remastered


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: