Skip to content

Lissie – My Wild West (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lissie – My Wild West (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 00:42:55 minutes | 466 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | © Cooking Vinyl

There are both goodbyes and new beginnings throughout Lissie’s third album, My Wild West, reflecting her recent move from California back to her native Midwest. There is, therefore, a wistfulness, perhaps even a mournfulness, that makes the gentler country-flavoured songs like Together or Apart and Ojai extremely emotive. Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt come to mind on these numbers; some tracks equally boast some U2-esque rock sounds, including the title track and Don’t You Give Up On Me, although this is not where we see the best of the young artist. The nasal twang to her gripping vocals is among several redeeming features on an LP that is an admirable, if not spectacular, addition to the catalogue of an impressively consistent artist to date.

01 – My Wild West Overture
02 – Hollywood
03 – Wild West
04 – Hero
05 – Sun Keeps Risin’
06 – Don’t You Give Up On Me
07 – Stay
08 – Daughters
09 – Together Or Apart
10 – Shroud
11 – Go For A Walk
12 – Ojai


%d bloggers like this: